Follow
Updating an Existing Item from an Outlook Email

You can update an existing project, task, or issue with information from an Outlook email.

  1. In Outlook, select the email that contains the information that you want to include in a Workfront update. 
  2. Click the Workfront icon in the upper-right corner of the email message to display the Workfront add-in.
    You might need to click the down-pointing arrow in the upper right of your email to access the Workfront icon.
  3. Click the Menu icon to display the list of available Workfront options.
    o365_addin_menu_icon.png
  4. Click Update in Workfront.
    outlook_Update_in_workfront_menu.png
    You can update the following information from the email before it is saved as a task:
    • Type: Select the type of object you are updating. You can select Project, Task, or Issue. The object you select determines the results that display in the Name field below. If you are unsure of the type of object, select All to search for projects, tasks, and issues simultaneously.
    • Name: Begin typing the name of the project, task, or issue that you want to update. Click the name when it appears in the drop-down list.
      NOTE  When entering names of tasks, ad hoc personal tasks are excluded from this list.
      For more information about ad hoc personal tasks, see "Creating Ad Hoc Work Items." 
    • Update: By default, the update is the same as the email Body. You can modify the update as desired.
      This update is displayed as the update status in Workfront.
    • Attachments: Any email attachments are saved to the Documents area of the task. You can delete any attachments before submitting the update.
  5. (Optional) Click Include Others, begin typing the name of users who you want to include in the update, then click the name when it appears in the drop-down list.
    Repeat this process to include additional users, then click Done
    By default, the user you are replying to receives a notification regardless of whether you include them.
    o365_addin_includeothers.png
  6. (Optional) Click the Lock icon to restrict this update to users within your company. When the update is locked, users outside your company cannot see the update.
    • Unlocked: Any user with access to the project, task, or issue where the update resides can view the update.
      By default, the update is unlocked.
      o365_addin_unlock.png
    • Locked: Only users within your company can view the update.
      o365_addin_lock.png
  7. Click Update.
  8. (Optional) Click View in Workfront to view the updated item with the Workfront integration within Outlook.
This article last updated on 2018-05-16 13:24:27 UTC