Follow
Restoring Deleted Items

***

You can restore projects, tasks, issues, and documents that have been deleted in the past 30 days. After 30 days, items are permanently deleted and cannot be restored.

Understanding Who Can Restore Items

Only a system administrator can restore items in Workfront.

Understanding What Information Is Restored

Information That Is Restored

The following information associated with the project, task, or issue is restored when restoring projects, task, and issues that have been deleted:

  • Documents (including proofed documents)
    Consider the following when restoring documents:
    • Documents that were deleted when the associated project, task, and issue was deleted are restored when the project, task, or issue is restored. You cannot individually restore documents that were deleted as part of a project, task, or issue being deleted.
      Documents that were deleted individually can be restored individually.
    • All versions of a document are restored when the document is restored. However, when restoring proofed documents that contain multiple versions, only the most recent version is restored.
      Document versions that were deleted individually cannot be recovered.
  • Update streams
  • Approvals
  • Assignments
  • Custom Forms
  • Baselines
    NOTE Task baselines are not restored when restoring individually deleted tasks. When tasks are restored as part of a project, task baselines are restored. 
  • Hours (and hour IDs)
    Whether hours are restored to the deleted item depends on the settings you chose when configuring preferences for timesheets and hours. For more information, see "Configuring How Hours Are Managed When an Item Is Deleted and Restored."
  • Financial Information
    • Billing records
    • Billing rates
    • Expenses
  • Timeline information
    • Predecessors
    • Task constraints
    • Duration type
  • Queue setup
  • Business case, including resource estimates, scorecards, goals, and risks
  • Project teams
  • Dates
  • Issues
  • Tasks 
  • Subtasks 
  • Statuses
  • The URL of the item
    When restored, the URL of the item remains the same. This means that any browser bookmarks users might have to the item remain valid.
  • Access and permissions
    Users who had access to the item before it was deleted have access after it is restored.

Information That Is Not Restored

The following information associated with the project, task, or issue is not restored when restoring projects, task, and issues that have been deleted:

  • Resolving objects
    When projects and tasks are configured with the option to Keep the original issue and tie its resolution to this (project or task), converted issues are identified as resolving objects. When the project or task that the issue resolution is tied to is deleted, the issue is no longer identified as a resolving object (there is no link from the issue to the deleted project or task). This link is not restored when the project or task is restored.
    For more information about configuring issues to match the resolving object when converted, see "Task and Issue Preferences."
    For more information about converting issues, see, "Converting Issues."
  • Likes
  • Endorsements
  • Favorites
    Projects, tasks, or issues that were added to the Favorites menu before the project, task, or issue was deleted do not reappear on the Favorites menu after the item is restored

Restoring Items

  1. Log in to Workfront as the system administrator.
  2. Click Setup in the Global Navigation Bar.
  3. Expand Recycle Bin, then click Recently Deleted.
    recycle_projects.png
  4. Click the Projects, TasksIssues, or Documents tab, depending on the type of item you want to restore.
    Items are sorted by the Deletion Date column by default.
  5. Select one or up to 10 items to restore at a time. 
    If a task contains a subtask, only the parent task is shown in the list. When the parent task is restored, any subtasks are also restored. 
    NOTE If you delete a child task, the child task is shown in the list. If you delete a parent task, only the parent task shows in the list. When you restore a parent task all children task are restored as well.
  6. Click Restore.
    The items you selected are restored to their original location. 
  7. (Optional) To quickly view the restored item, follow the steps in "Viewing Items That Have Been Recently Restored."
    For more information about what happens after restoring an item, see "Understanding what Happens after Restoring Items."

Understanding what Happens after Restoring Items

Tasks and subtasks that are restored appear in the same order as they appeared prior to being deleted. However, if the order of tasks changes between the time the task was deleted and restored, the task might be restored to the bottom of the list of tasks or subtasks.

After the item is restored:

  • Most information associated with the item is also restored. For more information about what is restored, see "Understanding What Information Is Restored."
  • A message is displayed, notifying you whether the restore was successful. You also receive an email notification. When you restore several items in bulk, you receive one email with a list of the items restored.
  • The restoration of the project, task, or issue is recorded in the update stream of the item itself and in the update stream of the parent object.
  • The restoration of documents is not recorded in the update stream.

***

**DON'T DELETE, DRAFT OR HIDE THIS ARTICLE. IT IS LINKED TO THE PRODUCT, THROUGH THE CONTEXT SENSITIVE HELP LINKS. **

From Luke: [! This should replace "Restoring Deleted Projects, Tasks, and Issues" Change title.]