Follow
Functionality Made Available in Preview in 2016

The following features were made available in the Preview environment in 2016. These features are planned to release to the production environment with the R1 release.

 

Updated Calendar in the My Work Area (No Longer Available)

Preview Sandbox: Oct 19, 2016; Early Access: Oct 26, 2016; Removed from Early Access on April 19, 2017

NOTE The functionality described in this section was removed from Early Access in Production on April 19, 2017. It will not be released to Production, based on customer feedback. We are currently working to improve the My Work area as a whole; these improvements will include an updated calendar view.

The calendar in the My Work area has been updated with the following changes:

  • Updated look and feel
  • Expand tasks or issues to view more details directly from the My Work page.
    Prior to this change, you had to navigate to the details page of the task or issue to view more details.
  • A 14-day period (including weekends) is displayed on the calendar.
    Prior to this change, only a five-day period was displayed, and weekends were excluded.
  • Task and issue duration is visually represented on the calendar (tasks and issues span the number of days equal to the duration).
    Prior to this change, tasks and issues were displayed on the start date and did not visually span multiple days on the calendar.
  • The project where the task or issue resides is visually represented by color. Each project is assigned a color; any tasks from a single project are displayed in the same color.
  • Time off is represented on the calendar with a gray indicator.
    Prior to this change, time off was not represented on the calendar.
    [! How this appears might change, so I'm leaving this a little vague. Hopefully this will change so the date at the top is dimmed.]
  • Completed tasks are removed from the calendar
    Prior to this change, tasks were dimmed.
  • Any tasks or issues assigned to you that are not yet complete are displayed on the calendar. (This does not include work assigned to a team you are a member of.)
    Prior to this change, tasks were displayed on your calendar when they were assigned to you and only after you had specified a commit date.
  • Adjust the dates displayed on the calendar by dragging to the desired date.
    Prior to this change, you had to use the forward and back arrows to adjust the visible dates.

For more information, see "Viewing Assigned Work on the My Work Calendar."

  

At GA, also update:

-Navigating My Work

Resource Scheduling Improvements

Now you can see all tasks on projects for which you are the Resource Manager, enabling you to be more informed when making scheduling decisions. 

For general information about the tools available for scheduling resources, see "Viewing Resource Assignments."

To adjust the information that is displayed on the scheduling timeline, create a filter, as described in "Filtering Content When Scheduling Resources."

In addition to viewing tasks on the projects you are responsible for, you can use the scheduling timeline to make changes to resourcing assignments. For information about how to manage user assignments on the scheduling timeline, see "Managing User Assignments."

For a video demonstration, see"View and Manage Resourcing Assignments on the Scheduling Timeline (Video)."

 

Manage User Allocations on the Scheduling Timeline

Now when scheduling resources with the new resource scheduling tools, you can determine how the planned hours for a task or issue are allocated to users. You can divide hours across days in the task duration and among assigned users.

For more information, see "Managing User Allocations."

 

User Allocations Are Disabled by Default

User allocation shading on the scheduling timeline when scheduling resources is now disabled by default.

Previously, allocation shading was displayed by default and could not be disabled.

For more information about how to enable user allocation options, see "Enabling User Allocations" in "Managing User Allocations."

Layout Template Determines Whether the New or Legacy Calendar Displays in the My Work Area

Preview Sandbox: Dec 7, 2016; Early Access: Dec 14, 2016 

The new calendar is displayed in the My Work area by default when no layout template is applied.

If you choose, you can configure the legacy calendar to be displayed in the My Work area by applying a layout template to the My Work area that is configured to show only the Commit Date on tasks and issues.

When using the legacy calendar in the My Work area, only work you have committed to is displayed.

To configure Workfront to display the new calendar in the My Work area when a layout template is applied, configure the layout template to show the Planned Completion Date on tasks and issues, then assign that layout template to the appropriate users.

For more information about configuring the layout template, see "Customizing My Work" in "Creating and Managing Layout Templates."

For information about using the new calendar in the My Work area, see "Viewing Assigned Work on the My Work Calendar."

show completed tasksonly for customers in EA because hopefully by R1 we won't need the old calendar anymore.Things people like about the old calendar:higher data density.Only work that you have committed to shows up. (Doesn't show all work that is assigned to you.) 

Outlook 365 Beta

Beta: TBD; Public Availability: TBD

You can use Workfront from Outlook for Office 365, as described in the following sections:

 

Reorder Columns in Any List with Drag-and-Drop

Early Access: Feb 20, 2016

You can change the order of columns in any list by dragging a column from one location and dropping it in another.

This is especially useful when viewing the Gantt chart and the list view simultaneously and the column that you want to view is not displayed on the left side of the page. 

For more information, see "Modifying Column Width and Order."

Updated Look and Feel in the Dashboard List

Now when viewing a dashboard list, the look and feel is more modern and scalable.

For more information about dashboards, see "Creating Dashboards."

Control Access to Custom Forms

Preview Sandbox: Jan 23, 2016

You can now control who has access to a custom form by granting access to individual users, teams, roles, groups, or companies. 

Prior to this change, you could grant access only to groups.

For more information, see "Creating Custom Forms."

  

Integration with Adobe Creative Cloud

Add-On available for download: April 2016

The Workfront Extension for Adobe Creative Cloud is designed to allow you to save and export assets you create in the Creative Cloud to Workfront, thereby speeding up the approval and review process.

For more information, see "Workfront Extension for Adobe Creative Cloud."