Follow
2017.3 Beta 2 Release Activity

This page describes all changes most recently available in the Preview environment with the 2017.3 Beta 2 release. The functionality on this page was made available in the Preview environment on August 23, 2017. It will be made available in the Production environment in early November, 2017.

IMPORTANT Functionality described on this page is subject to change prior to availability in the Production environment.

For a list of all changes made in 2017.3, see "2017.3 Release Activity Overview."

The 2017.3 Beta 2 release contains enhancements for both for system administrators and other users:

For Administrators

For All Users

Resource Planner Option to Change the View

You can now view resource allocation and availability by job role in the Resource Planner. When you choose this option, you can view the Resource Planner by job role first, then expand each job role to display the projects associated with them, and then expand the projects to display the users associated with the job roles and the projects. This view will make it easier for you to budget all the job roles first, regardless of what projects they are associated with.

Prior to this change, you could view the information in the Resource Planner only by project first, then by job role, and then users.

For more information about planning resources in the Resource Planner, see "Planning in the Resource Planner."

 

Dashboard Information on Report Lists

NOTE: This functionality has temporarily been disabled in Preview.

The "Dashboards" field is now available in reports and lists for the report object. This field is available in the view and the filter of reports and lists for the report object. When added to a view, it displays a list of dashboards on which the report is added.

Prior to this change, you could not see whether a report is listed on a dashboard. For more information about managing reports, see the "Understanding What Reports Are Listed on Dashboards" in "Accessing and Organizing Reports."

 

Filter Content within a Utilization Report on a Project

Now you can filter the content displayed in a Utilization Report on a project.

For more information, see "Filtering Utilization Information" in "Viewing Utilization Information for Projects, Programs, and Portfolios."

 

View Cost Information in the Utilization Report on a Project

Now you can display cost information within the utilization report, in addition to hour information.

Prior to this change, only hour information was available in the utilization report.

For more information, see "Tracking Progress and Cost with a Utilization Report" in "Viewing Utilization Information for Projects, Programs, and Portfolios."

 

Subscribing and Unsubscribing Users to Items

You can keep your manager and peers updated on your work by subscribing them to the update stream of items to which you have Manage and Share permissions.

When you subscribe or unsubscribe a user to an item, a record is automatically made to the Update stream of the item.

Once subscribed, the user receives an in-app notification whenever a comment is made to Update stream of the subscribed object. In addition, the subscriber can choose to receive email and mobile notifications.

To learn more about subscribing and unsubscribing users to objects see, "Managing Subscribers" in  “Subscribing to an Item in Workfront.”

 

Viewing the Subscriber List in a Report or View

You can quickly view who is subscribed to a project, task, or issue by adding the Subscriber field to a Report or View. To learn more about adding a field to a report or view, see “Understanding Fields in Views and Reports.”

New Look for Communication Emails

The look and feel of Communication emails has been updated, giving you much more context to the communications made on an object. You can now quickly follow a comments thread and view who is included in the communications.

For more information see, "Receiving Instant Notifications" in "Receiving Email Notifications."

 

Restrict Access to Workflows by Stage Activation (Workfront Proof)

NOTE This option is available only when using the stand-alone Workfront Proof application; it is not available when using a Workfront Proof instance that is integrated with Workfront.

In Workfront Proof, you can now configure when proofs with an automated workflow are visible to users who are associated with a given stage.

You can configure proofs to be visible to users:

  • As soon as the proof is created.
  • Only after the stage the user is associated with becomes active. 

For more information, see "Configuring Proof Visibility Based on Workflow Stage Activity" in "Configuring Sharing Settings."

[! Also Update "Configuring Sharing Settings," and "General Proof Settings."  Also, currently I don't have any documentation for the end-user side of this. I believe that they can enable this on individual proofs if it is disables at the system level. If it is enabled at the system level, then cannot disable it.]