Follow
Configuring Default Proof Roles in Workfront

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

As a Workfront administrator, you can configure the default proofing roles for users and guest users on proofs created in Workfront in the following circumstances:

  • When the user or guest user is a designated recipient added to a proof's workflow.
  • When the user or guest user has permissions to access a proof via the associated Workfront object (such as a project, task, or issue), but is not a designated recipient in the proof's workflow.
    This can happen, for example, when a user is added to the parent task for the proof, but not to the workflow for the proof. 

See "Rights Associated with Proofing Roles" below for a list of each proofing role and the rights associated with it.

Configuring Default Proofing Roles

  1. In the Global Navigation Bar, click Setup
    Setup_in_global_navigation_bar.png
  2. Near the bottom of the list that appears on the left, click Review and Approval
  3. In the Roles for designated recipients of a document proof section, select the default role users and guests who are added to a proof.
    NOTE:
    -This setting applies only to users who are created in the Workfront system after the role is set; not to existing users.
    -The person adding users to the proof can adjust this role, as described in "Adding Users to a Proof" in "Sharing a Proof within Workfront."
  4. In the Roles for non-recipients that open a document proof section, select the default role for users and guests who have access to a proof, but are not designated recipients in the proof's workflow.
  5. Click Save.

Rights Associated with Proofing Roles

The following table lists each proofing role and the rights associated with it: [this is duplicated in "Sharing a Proof within Workfront"]

 

View a Proof

Add Markups

Add Comments

Edit Own Comments If There Are No Replies

Make a Decision

Edit or Delete Comments Made by Others

Edit the Proof

View Approval Request in the My Work Area

Read Only

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewer

 

 

 

 

Approver

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewer & Approver

 

 

Author

(Not available when sharing with non-proofing users)

 

 

Moderator *

(Not available when sharing with non-proofing users)

 

 

 

Pink checkmarks: waiting on Dawid's confirmation: https://hub.workfront.com/document/view?ID=5c363ae700446874eaf4221097216a90

* In addition to what is shown in the table above, users with the Moderator role can also:

  • Submit new versions
  • Add new reviewers
  • Apply actions on comments
  • Resolve comments
  • Delete comments and replies on the proof (made by themself or others)
    Deleting the first comment in a comment thread deletes the entire thread. Deleting a reply in the comment thread deletes only that reply. 
This article last updated on 2019-01-18 04:48:42 UTC