Follow
Deactivating a User through the API

When a user leaves your organization, you can deactivate the user, making their Workfront license available for another user and preventing them from being inadvertently assigned work. By deactivating a user, you preserve their work history, including their work assignments and their association with notes, hours, and documents.

To learn more about deactivating a user, see "Deactivating Users."

For information about using API, see "API Basics."

To deactivate a user through the API:

  1. Generate an API key.
    You can do this by using the following API call:
    <domain>.my.workfront.com/attask/api/v7.0/user?action=generateApiKey&username=username&password=password&method=PUT
  2. Locate the GUID for the user you want to deactivate.
    1. Use the following API call to retrieve the GUID for all users in your system: 
      <domain>.my.workfront.com/attask/api/v7.0/USER/search?fields=isActive
      The isActive field for users who are active in the system shows as true. Inactive users show as false. 
    2. Locate the GUID for the user you want to deactivate.
  3. Use the following PUT request to edit the value in the user's isActive field to false
    <domain>.my.workfront.com/attask/api/v7.0/USER/<user's GUID>?updates={"isActive":"false"}&method=put&apiKey=<apiKey>&fields=isActive
    The isActive field is changed from true to false and the user is not deactivated, as shown in the following example:
    {
    data
         {
              ID"592125e60089b88fae8b51c08383e144",
              name"Tyler Reid",
              objCode"USER",
              isActivefalse
         }
    }

The user is now deactivated. 

This article last updated on 2018-06-14 16:17:57 UTC