Follow
Custom profiles

Introduction to Custom profiles

Custom profiles give you even more control over what users can do in the account - Billing Administrators and Administrators can create custom profiles for users and decide specifically what permissions these users will have over the items in the account and Account settings.

NOTE This feature is only available on Premium edition.

Module permissions

Module permissions let you decide what kind of access you want to give your users over their own items and over items owned by other users in the account.

In the Basic access section you can decide if a user can Read (View), Create, Edit, and Delete the items they own in the account.

The Data administration section defines the rights users have over the items owned by other people in the account.

Both sections allow you to grant rights over the below items in the account:

Administrative permissions

In this section you are able to grant administrative permissions to your users.

You can decide if the user can:

NOTE The permissions are linked - allowing certain functions will automatically enable the permissions that are needed to carry out this function. For example, allowing the user to manage permission profiles will automatically enable managing users in the account.

Adding a new profile

To add a new custom profile:

  • Go to Account settings
  • Go to the Profiles tab (1)
  • Click on the plus icon (2)
  • Select New profile (3)
    Adding_a_profile_1.png
  • In the New profile page, you can name the new profile (4)
  • Enable it in the account
  • Set Module permissions (6) and Administrative permissions (7) - described
  • Click Submit (8) to save the new profile
    Adding_a_profile_2.png

When you save the new profile, it will automatically become available on the New user page and the User details page, so you will be able to assign it to new and existing users. Please see Editing a user's permission profile to find out how to change a profile for your user.

Enabling and disabling profiles

Enabling a profile

To enable an existing profile:

  • Go to Account settings
  • Go to the Profiles tab (1)
  • Click on the Actions menu for the profile you want to enable (2)
  • Select Enable profile (3)
  • The profile will become active and visible in the menus across Workfront Proof
    Enabling_a_profile.png

Disabling a profile

To disable a profile:

  • Go to Account settings
  • Go to the Profiles tab (1)
  • Click on the Actions menu next to the profile you want to disable (3)
  • Select Disable profile from the menu (4)
    Disabling_a_profile_1.png
  • A confirmation pop up will display, click Yes to confirm the changes (5)
    DIsabling_a_profile_2.png

NOTE A disabled profile  can no longer be assigned to users in the account. If users with that profile exist in the account, you will be asked to select a different profile for them before the profile is disabled.

Bulk enabling and disabling profiles

To enable or disable multiple profiles in one go:

  • Go to Account settings
  • Go to the Profiles tab (1)
  • Select the profiles you want to enable or disable by checking the boxes next to them (2)
  • To select all profiles, check the top box (3)
  • Click on the Actions menu at the top of the page (4)
  • Select Enable or Disable profiles from the menu (5)
  • A confirmation message will appear at the top of the page (6)
    Bulk_enabling_profiles.png

Copying profiles

If you are setting up multiple profiles with similar permissions, you can create copies of existing profiles and then modify the permissions.

To copy a profile:

  • Go to Account settings
  • Go to the Profiles tab (1)
  • Click on the Actions menu next to the profile you want to copy (2)
  • Select Copy profile from the menu (3)
    Copying_a_profile_1.png
  • The copied profile will come up on the profiles list above the original profile with the name starting with Copy (4)
    Copying_a_profile_2.png

Editing profiles

Custom profiles can be edited after they've been created, you can rename them and add or remove specific permissions from both the Module permissions and the Administrative permissions sections.

If you edit a profile, it will be updated for all users who have this profile currently assigned to them.

To edit a profile, first you need to access the profile details page - this is done by simply clicking on the profile name in the Profiles tab in the Account settings.

NOTE The default Workfront Proof profiles are visible in the list of profiles but cannot be modified.

Profile details page

Here you can:

Deleting profiles

Deleting a profile

To delete a profile:

  • Go to Account settings
  • Go to the Profiles tab (1)
  • Click on the Actions menu of the profile you want to delete (2)
  • Select Delete profile from the menu (3)
    Deleting_profiles_1.png
  • If the profile is assigned to a user, you will be asked to select a different profile for this user
    Deleting_profiles_2.png

NOTE It is not possible to delete standard profiles, you can disable them if you don't want them to be used in your account.

Deleting profiles in bulk

To delete mutliple profiles at the same time:

  • Go to Account settings
  • Go to the Profiles tab (1)
  • Select the profiles you want to delete by checking the checkboxes (2)
  • To select all Custom profiles, tick the top box (3)
  • Click the trash icon at the top of the profile list (4)
    Deleting_in_bulk_1.png
  • If the profiles are assigned to any users, you will be asked to select a new profile for them
    Deleting_profiles_2__1_.png

NOTE Standard profiles are not selectable because it is not possible to remove them from the account. It is possible to disable them if you don't want to use them in your account.