Follow
Folder permissions

Folder permissions

The basic rule is that if a person has permission to see an item in a folder, then they can also see the folder itself.

However, they can only see items in the folder that they have been explicitly shared with them.

For example, a folder may contain Items A, B, and C. Item A has been shared explicitly with User 1 giving them permission to see item A in the folder. Items B and C have not been explicitly shared with User 1. This means that when User 1 opens the folder they will only see item A, and items B and C will be hidden.


workspace_details_big.png Public folders

If a folder is public, users in the account (excluding Observers and Light users) will be able to see the folder name in the Sidebar.

Users will only be able to see items in the public folder if the items have been explicitly shared with them. 

Your permission profile also affects the rights you have over Public folders:



Profile/ Action  See all items in folder  See items explicitly shared with them  Add items  Delete items  Add sub-folders Delete sub-folders  Edit folder details
 Creator  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES
 Billing Administrator  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES
 Administrator  YES YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES
 Supervisor  YES YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES
 Manager *  NO  YES  YES  NO  YES  NO  YES
 Observer  NO  YES  NO  NO  NO  NO  NO



* If the Public folder is owned by a Manager they will be able to delete the root folder and any sub-folders.


workspace_details_private_big.png Private folders

If a folder is Private (marked by the above icon), other users in the same account will not be able to see the name of the folder in the Sidebar unless the folder or items in the folder have been explicitly shared with them or they have a profile of Supervisor, Administrator or Billing Administrator.

Profile/ Action  See all items in folder  See items explicitly shared with them  Add items  Delete items  Add sub-folders Delete sub-folders  Edit folder details
 Creator  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES
 Billing Administrator  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES
 Administrator  YES YES  YES  YES  YES  YES  YES
 Supervisor  YES YES  YES YES  YES YES YES
 Manager *   NO   YES  NO  NO NO  NO NO
 Observer **  NO   YES  NO  NO NO  NO NO

If, for example, you would like your Project Manager and their teams to see specific folders only, the Project Manager can set up a private folder and then share the folder with specific users.

* When sharing a private folder, you can decide if you would like Managers to be able to create, edit, and delete folder items.

You can set this for each person individually on the New folder page and change it in the Shared with section of the Folder details page

** If a Private folder is shared with an or Observer, they will have Read Only access to all items in the folder. Please also see Sharing folders.


IMPORTANT:

  • If a parent folder is private, all sub-folders will also be private. You cannot have a public sub-folder under a private parent folder. You can, however, have a private sub-folder under a public parent folder.
  • The Creator and Owner of the folder will always have access to it and will not be removable.
  • Only the Creator and Owner of the private folder can delete the folder.