Follow
Understanding Folder Permissions

If a person has permission to see an item in a folder, they can also see the folder itself. However, they can see only the items in the folder that have been explicitly shared with them.

Public Folders

If a folder is public, users in the account (excluding Observers and Light users) can see the folder name in the left sidebar.

Your permission profile also affects the rights you have over public folders:

Profile/ Action  See all items in folder  See items explicitly shared with them  Add items  Delete items  Add sub-folders Delete sub-folders  Edit folder details
 Creator Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
 Billing Administrator Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
 Administrator Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
 Supervisor Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
 Manager *  No Yes Yes No Yes No Yes
 Observer No Yes No No No No No

 

* If the public folder is owned by a manager, he or she can delete the root folder and any sub-folders.

For more information, see "Editing User Profiles and Permissions in Workfront Proof."

Private folders

If a folder is private, other users in the same account will not be able to see the name of the folder in the left sidebar unless the folder or items in the folder have been explicitly shared with them or they have a profile of Supervisor, Administrator, or Billing Administrator:

Profile/ Action  See all items in folder  See items explicitly shared with them  Add items  Delete items  Add sub-folders Delete sub-folders  Edit folder details
 Creator Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
 Billing Administrator Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
 Administrator Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
 Supervisor Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
 Manager *   No  Yes No No No No No
 Observer ** No Yes No No No No No

 

If, for example, you would like your Project Manager and their teams to see specific folders only, the Project Manager can set up a private folder and then share the folder with specific users.

* When sharing a private folder, you can decide if you would like Managers to be able to create, edit, and delete folder items.

You can set this for each person individually on the New folder page and change it in the Shared with section of the Folder details page. For more information, see "Creating Folders" and "The Folder Details Page."

** If a Private folder is shared with an or Observer, they will have Read Only access to all items in the folder. For more information, see "Editing User Profiles and Permissions in Workfront Proof" and "Sharing folders."

IMPORTANT

  • If a parent folder is private, all sub-folders will also be private. You cannot have a public sub-folder under a private parent folder. You can, however, have a private sub-folder under a public parent folder.
  • The Creator and Owner of the folder will always have access to it and will not be removable.
  • Only the Creator and Owner of the private folder can delete the folder.
This article last updated on 2018-10-03 16:01:27 UTC