Follow
New Proof Email

New Proof emails are sent to all reviewers when you create a new proof or when you add a new reviewer to an existing proof. The New Proof email can be controlled by the proof creators and people who add collaborators to the proofs. Recipients cannot disable this type of notifications themselves.

DO NOT EDIT. IN DRAFT: https://workfront.zendesk.com/knowledge/articles/360013198974/en-us?brand_id=662728

You can decide if you want your reviewers to receive this notification by selecting or deselecting the Notify people by email check box on the New proof or New version page .

The Notify checkbox needs to be selected:

  • Upon creating a proof

New_proof_email_upon_creation.png

  • Upon adding new people

New_proof_email_when_adding_people__1_.png

  • Upon applying Automated Workflow templates (as this is also adding new recipients)

2016-12-09_1607.png

NOTE

  • In the pop-up a checkbox needs to be selected in order to send a message. "Send a message" link does not state that emails will be sent. The link needs to be clicked in order to check the box and enable emails

2016-12-09_1611.png

If a checkbox is dimmed and non-editable, it can be because the users are trying to add collaborators to a stage which haven't started yet and the settings for the whole stage were already set prior. All recipients on a stage receive the same type of notification when the stage starts. 

New_Proof_Email.png

A New proof email contains:

  • Your personal message (if you chose to include one)
    NOTE If you always send the same custom message to your reviewers, it might be a good idea to save it in your Personal settings under the Proofing defaults tab. For more information, see "Proofing Defaults."
  • Personal link to the proof
  • Thumbnail of the proof image
  • The following proof details:
    • Proof name
    • Version number
      For more information, see "Creating Proof Versions."
    • List of the reviewers and their progress on the proof
    • A link to Share the proof with someone else*

* This allows you to share the proof URL and/or the download link for the original file. Please note that this option does not allow you to explicitly add reviewers to the proof, you will only be sharing the public proof URL, and the recipient will receive read only access to the proof.

See "Sharing Proofs" for more information.

If you don't want this link to appear on your recipient's email, you should disable the Public Sharing settings on the proof (Download original file and Public URL).

See "Managing proofs" for more information.

The Activity Log

Sending a New Proof email to a reviewer is logged in the Activity section of Proof details page. See "Managing Proofs in the Proof Details Page" for more information. You can check if the New Proof email was enabled at the time of creating a proof.

New_Verison_email_-_acitivity_log.png

NOTE 

  • If the Creator or Owner of the proof has Proof Made emails disabled by default (in their personal settings), they won't receive any Proof made or New proof emails even if the Notify people by email box is checked on the New proof page. For more information, see "Proofing Defaults."
  • If the email notifications are disabled as a default in the Account settings the Creator / Owner of the proof won't receive any Proof made or New proof emails even if this is enabled in their personal settings and the Notify people by email box is checked on the New proof page. For more information, "The Proof Made Email" and see "Proofing Defaults."

Enabling the New Proof Email and Including a Custom Message

You can specify whether you want to send an email alert to the reviewers on a proof when you create it or when you add someone to it.

When You Create a Proof

When you are creating a new proof in the New proof page, under the Share section, you can select whether to send email alerts:

  • Here you can decide if you want to Notify people by email (1). If you deselect this option, none of your reviewers receive an email to let them know that the proof is ready for their review.
  • You can also include a Custom message in the email notification (2).
  • If you decide to add your own custom message you will be able to put in a customized subject line (3) and a message in the body of the email (4).
  • To discard the custom message simply click on the link (5).

NOTE If you always send the same custom message to your reviewers, it might be a good idea to save it in your Personal settings under the Proofing defaults tab. For more information, see "Proofing Defaults."

New_Proof_page_1.png

New_Proof_page_2.png

When You Add a Reviewer to a Proof

You can select if a new reviewer added to an existing proof will be notified of the proof (similar to above).

  • First, add new reviewers by clicking the Share this Version button on the Proof details page (1).

Proof_Details_page_1.png

  • A box appears in which you can add new reviewers. You can then decide if you want them to be notified by email (2) and choose to add a custom message to the email (3).

Proof_Details_page_2.png

  • If you choose to add a custom message, the box expands and you will be able to put in a custom subject line (4) and custom text in the body of the email (5). You can also discard the custom message by clicking on the link (6).

Proof_Details_page_3.png

This article last updated on 2018-12-06 21:15:31 UTC