Follow
Creating a New Version of a Proof

Managing feedback across multiple versions or revisions of a piece of work can be a huge challenge. Workfront Proof simplifies this process by letting you create and compare multiple versions of a proof.

Consider the following when you are creating a new version of a proof:

Move this to piW

  • There is no limit to the number of versions of a proof you can create.

  • You can give a user permission to see one version but not another. Conversely, if you share a later version with a user, that user cannot see earlier versions unless you go back and explicitly grant the user access to those previous versions.

  • To create a new version of a proof you must have Edit rights on the proof. See "Managing Proof Roles in Workfront Proof" and "Proof Permissions Profiles in Workfront Proof" for information on who has edit rights on a proof.
    For information about sharing proof versions, see "Sharing proofs."

INPORTANT: If a proof is created within Workfront, any new versions created for that proof must also be created within Workfront. You cannot create a new version of a proof within Workfront Proof if that proof was created within Workfront. For information about how to create proof versions within Workfront, see "Creating Proofs in Workfront."

Creating a New Version of a Proof in Workfront

  1. Open the document list that contains the proof.
  2. From your computer's file system, drag and drop a new file over the proof.
    Drag_drop_new_version.png
    Or
    Select the row where the proof is listed, click More > New Version, then click the option you want to use to add the new version of the proof.
    More_menu-add_new_version.png

Creating a New Version from the Proofing Viewer (Workfront Proof only)

If you are using the standalone Workfront Proof, you can create a new version of a proof containing a single file or web capture.

NOTE If your account is on an Enterprise plan and you upload multiple files or web captures, they will be automatically combined into a single new version. See Creating a Multi-Page Proof for more information.

To create a new version of a proof in Workfront Proof:

  1. Open the proof.
  2. Click the name of the proof in the upper-left corner, then click Add new version in the box that appears.
    On the New proof version of page that appears, you can see all the reviewers from the previous version, including their roles and email alert settings. You can easily edit the roles and alerts of existing reviewers or remove existing reviewers from the new version on this page.
  3. Under Add files, upload a file as a new version of the proof by dragging and dropping from your computer or by clicking browse and selecting the file you want. You can type a Proof name for the version or leave this box blank to use the same filename with a version number added on the end.
    Or
    Capture a web page as a new version of the proof by typing a URL
    NOTE Drag and drop is available only with browsers that fully support HTML5. This excludes Internet Explorer 7 through 9 and Safari.
  4. Under Workflow, make any of the following change to specify the reviewers for this version of the proof.
    Reviewers from the previous version are replaced by the reviewers you add.
  5. Under Email notification, do any of the following:
    • Specify whether you want to notify the reviewers of the new version.
      Your selection will be logged in the Activity section of the Proof details page. For more information, see "Managing Proofs."
    • Add a custom subject and message.
  6. In the Organization section, do any of the following:
    • Apply one or more tags to the proof. For more information, see "Tags."
      Note that tags are inherited from the previous version of the proof, as well. If you add a new tag to the new version, previous versions are also tagged.
    • Add the version to a folder. See "Managing Folders" for more information.
      The folder will be copied from the previous version of the proof. If you select a different folder, the whole proof (all versions) will be moved.
      NOTE Billing administrators and Administrators can make the folder field mandatory across the whole account on the Settings tab. See "General Proof Settings" for more information.
  7. Under Proof settings, make any of the changes below:
    • Require login on the proof
    • Require electronic signatures on the proof (Enterprise plan only)
    • Lock the proof when all decisions are made
    • Allow or block download of original file
    • Public sharing of the proof, including public sharing settings
    • Subscription to the proof
      The selections made in this section will be shown in the Proof details page (where some fields can be edited). For more information, see "Managing Proofs."

About the New Version Message

If there was a custom subject/message included in the previous version of the proof, it will show by default on the New version page. You can:

  • Edit the subject and message
  • Unselect the Notify people by email box, meaning no email will be sent to your reviewers to notify them that they have a new version to review

NOTE This is not impacted by any default custom subject/message saved in your Personal settings.

If you have a default subject and message saved in your personal settings, this will impact on what message is shown by default on the New version page:

  • If you chose to notify your reviewers by email for the previous version of the proof using the standard email (for example, no custom subject/message), your default custom subject/message (your personal settings) will be shown on the New version page. You can then edit the custom subject and message or unselect the Notify people by email box (meaning no email will be sent to your reviewers to notify them that they have a new version to review).
  • If you chose not to notify your reviewers by email for the previous version of the proof (for example, no standard or custom email), the New version page will not include any message by default. To notify your reviewers of the new version, click the Send a Message link, which will show your default custom subject/message (per your personal settings). You can then edit the custom subject and message if needed.

If you do not have a default subject and message saved in your personal settings, the following will show on the New version page:

  • If you chose to notify your reviewers by email for the previous version of the proof using the standard email (for example, no custom subject/message), the Notify people by email option will be selected by default on the New version page. To add a custom message click the link.
  • If you chose not to notify your reviewers by email for the previous version of the proof (for example, no standard or custom email), the New version page will not include any message by default. To notify your reviewers of the new version, click the Send a Message link. You can then add a custom subject and message by clicking the Add Custom Message link.
This article last updated on 2019-03-20 17:26:02 UTC