Follow
Sharing Folders

You can share a folder with users and whole companies that have Workfront Proof accounts (not with guests).

If you share a whole folder:

  • You cannot set roles for the people you are sharing the folder with (roles and email alerts will only apply to recipients when sharing individual proofs).
  • The recipients will have read-only access to all the items in the folder (existing and subsequently added items).
  • The recipients will get ONE email containing a personal URL to the folder.
  • The recipients will NOT get email notifications when new items are added to the folder.
  • The recipients will be able to download the original files for items in the folder (please note that each proof must have the Download original file option enabled in order for recipient to be able to download the original file).
  • Owners and creators of folders are always able to view the folder and cannot be removed from the folder.
  • If you share a private folder with a Manager user in your account, you can decide if you would like them to have edit rights on the folder.

You can also share items within a folder (rather than the folder itself). For more information, see "Sharing Proofs" and "Sharing Files." 

Sharing an Individual Folder

  1. Click the Folders tab in the left navigation sidebar.
  2. Hover over an individual folder you want to share, then click the More button that appears to the right of the folder.
  3. Click Share folder.
  4. On the page that appears, do any of the following:
    • Add users to the folder by typing in their email address (1).
    • If you are sharing a private folder with a Manager, you can decide if you want them to be able to create, edit, and delete folder items by clicking an option under Allow on folder.
    • If you change your mind, you can remove a user by hovering over the person's email address and clicking Remove person (the trash can icon that appears to the far right). You can remove all of the people you just added by hovering over their names, then clicking Remove all people (the top trash icon).
  5. When you are ready, click Share folder.
    NOTE If you share the folder with a group or partner, all contacts in that group or partner organization appear in the share section of the page.

Sharing Multiple Folders

  1. Click the Folders tab in the left navigation sidebar.
  2. Click the name of the the folder containing the folders you want to share.
  3. In the list of folders that appears to the right, click the checkbox to the left of each folder you want to share.
    Or
    Click the checkbox above the list of folders to select all folders in the list.
  4. Click Share selected items.
    Share_button-small.png
  5. On the page that appears, do any of the following:
    • Add users to the folder by typing in their email address.
    • If you are sharing a private folder with a Manager, you can decide if you want them to be able to create, edit, and delete folder items by clicking an option under Allow on folder.
    • If you change your mind, you can remove a user by hovering over the person's email address and clicking Remove person (the trash can icon that appears to the far right). You can remove all of the people you just added by hovering over their names, then clicking Remove all people (the top trash icon).
  6. When you are ready, click Share folder.

Accessing a Folder That's Been Shared With You

When someone shares a folder with you, it appears in the sidebar of their Workfront Proof account under the name of the owner of the folder. You receive an email containing folder details and a personal link to the folder.

  1. Click the link in the notification email you receive.
  2. Log in to Workfront Proof.
    Workfront Proof displays the Folder details page. For more information, see "The Folder Details Page."  

About Sharing Sub Folders

If a parent folder which contains subfolders is shared and subsequently a subfolder is moved out from under the parent folder (for example, to top level), the original share will not be maintained on the subfolder. This is because the subfolder itself was not explicitly shared, the parent folder was. Therefore, in this case, if you would like the subfolder to be shared with the original recipients you should share the subfolder again with those recipients.

If a private parent folder is shared with a Manager and edit rights on the folder are given to this user, this setting is inherited by all subfolders in the private folder.

About Sub Folders That Are Shared with You

When a sub-folder has been shared with someone, it appears in the sidebar of your Workfront Proof account under the name of the owner of the folder.

If the parent folder, or items from it, have already been shared with the same person, the sub-folder will automatically appear under the parent folder in the sidebar and within the parent folder's details page.

About Sharing a Folder with a Company

To share a folder with a partner organization, there must be an existing partner relationship set up between your account and theirs.

Sharing a folder with a partner means:

  • All users in that organization will have Read Only access to the folder (and folder items).
  • Any new users added to the organization will automatically have Read Only access to the folder (and all items in the folder).

See "Sharing Items With a Partner Account" for more information.

This article last updated on 2018-10-17 22:27:06 UTC