Your users might leave the organization and you might need to remove them from Workfront. They should not remain active in the system, because this would create confusion for other users when adding them to updates or assigning them work.
We recommend that you deactivate users who have left the organization rather than delete them. If a user is deleted, all history in Workfront associated with that user is lost. This includes their work assignments, their association with notes, hours, documents and all other objects they have once created.
Deactivating a user in Workfront removes the user's licenses to both Workfront and digital proofing. Additionally, the user can no longer be assigned work. When a user is deactivated, that user's Workfront license and proofing license become available to be used by another user.
For more information about the impact of deleting and that of deactivating users, see "Deleting vs. Deactivating a User."
- Understanding the Access Needed to Deactivate Users
- Deactivating Users Immediately
- Scheduling Users for Deactivation
- Understanding the Implications of Scheduling a User for Deactivation for Resource Planning
The following users have access to deactivate other users:
- A user with a Plan license and access to Edit users in their access level can schedule the users they create for deactivation.
- A user with a Plan license can schedule any other user including themselves for deactivation if they have administrative access to edit users.
For more information about which users can edit other users, see "Access Needed to Edit Users."
- A system administrator.
All system administrators can schedule themselves for deactivation, except for the main administrator.
For more information about how to find your main system administrator, see the "Admin Email" section of "Configuring Basic Info for Your System."
- Navigate to the People area in the Global Navigation Bar.
- Select the People tab.
- Select a user, then click More.
- Click Deactivate.
A warning is displayed to alert you of what happens when you deactivate a user.
- Click Deactivate.
When you see the user in a list, it should have a Deactivated tag under their name.
When you click their name to see their profile, you should see a banner across their avatar indicating that the user has been deactivated.
As a manager, you might want to mark users for deactivation before their actual leaving your organization. For example, if you are working with a user who is contractually bound, they are in your system for a limited period of time and you know their termination date. You can schedule them to become deactivated on that date.
System administrators and users with a Plan license can see the deactivation date in their user profile.
For more information about who can schedule users for deactivation, see "Understanding the Access Needed to Schedule Users for Deactivation."
To schedule a user for deactivation:
- Navigate to the People are in your Global Navigation Bar.
- Select the People tab.
- Click the name of a user to select it.
(Optional) You can select multiple users, to schedule them for deactivation in bulk.
- Click Edit.
- Find the Resource Planning area of the user profile dialog box.
- Check the Schedule Deactivation box.
- A calendar displays. Specify the date and the time for the Scheduled Deactivation Date.
NOTE You can only select whole hour increments, and not minutes in the time box.
If you select a time for the current day which has passed, Workfront will schedule the deactivation for the following day at 12:00 AM.
The time selected matches the computer timezone of the user who is scheduling the deactivation.
- Click Save Changes.
The user is deactivated on the selected day sometimes after the selected time. If you selected multiple users to deactivate in bulk, all selected users are deactivated on the selected day sometimes after the selected time.
We recommend that you build a report for users that you have scheduled for deactivation, to keep informed about what users are coming up to be deactivated. There is no confirmation that the deactivation happened once the users become deactivated.
When you schedule a user for deactivation, they no longer appear in the Resource Planner as being available for budgeting hours. If they remain part of the Resource Pools, they appear in the Resource Planner, but their availability will be set to zero hours starting with the date of their scheduled deactivation.
The Resource Planner takes into account all the job roles of the users and Planned Completion Dates of the tasks and calculates resources accordingly.
For more information about the Resource Planner, see "Working in the Resource Planner."