Follow
Comparison between the Access of a System Administrator and that of a User with a Plan License with Administrative Rights

As an administrator, you can give users full administrative access to Workfront by assigning them the System Administrator access level, or you can assign users administrative access to select areas of the system, when they have a Plan license. Assigning a user with a Plan license administrative access to certain area of the system allows them to perform some administrative functions, but it does not grant them full control of the system. 

Granting Full System Administrator Access to Users

As a system administrator, you can give another user a System Administrator license. The system administrator can do everything in the system, including having full access to items they did not create themselves. 

To set up a user as a system administrator:

  1. Click People in the Global Nav bar. 
  2. Select the People tab.
  3. Click the name of the user to whom you want to grant administrator rights.
  4. Click Edit User's Info.
    For example, if the user's name is Sarah, click Edit Sarah's Info.
    The user's info page is displayed.
  5. Click Access to navigate to the Access section of the page.
  6. In the Access Level drop-down list, select the System Administrator access level.
    Depending on changes made in your system, the name of this access level might have changed.
  7. Click Save Changes.
    The user now has full system administrator rights in the system.

Granting Administrative Rights to Workfront to Users with a Plan License

You can give a user with a Plan license administrative access to certain areas of the system. This allows them to perform certain activities similar to those of a system administrator, but they do not have full control of the entire system, like a system administrator would. A Plan license user with administrative rights does not have full control of items they did not create themselves. For more information about granting users administrative rights to Workfront, see "Administrative Access."

Comparison between the Access of a System Administrator and that of a User with a Plan License with Administrative Rights

The following table shows the difference between the access rights of a user with a System Administrator license versus those of a user with a Plan license with administrative rights. If users can view all the objects in the system (regardless of who created them), create new ones and modify or delete existing ones, they have full access to the objects. If users can edit the functionality in one area, they have full access to the functionality in that area. 

AREA/ OBJECT  SYSTEM ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE PLAN LICENSE WITH ADMINISTRATIVE ACCESS
ACCESS TO THE SETUP AREA 
Project Preferences: Projects Full access No access
Project Preferences: Tasks & Issues Full access No access
Project Preferences: Statuses Full access

No access

Manage only group-level statuses for groups they are the owner of at the Groups level.

Project Preferences: Priorities Full access No access
Project Preferences: Severities Full access No access
Project Preferences: Exchange Rates Full access Full access
Processes: Approvals

Full access

Full access
Processes: Milestone Paths Full access Full access
Custom Forms Full access

Manage custom forms they created or custom forms shared with them.

Attach custom forms they created or custom forms shared with them to objects they have manage or contribute permissions to.

Recycle Bin: Recently Deleted Full access

No access

Recycle Bin: Recently Restored Full access No access
Job Roles Full access

Modify but not delete existing job roles.

Add new job roles.

Teams Full access

No access

Add existing teams to users when creating or editing users.

Groups Full access Manage groups and group-level statuses for groups which they are the Group Owner of. 
Companies Full access Full access
Log in As Full access  No access
Schedules Full access

No access

Access to add existing schedules to other users, at the user level. 

Timesheet & Hours: Timesheet Profiles Full access

No access

Access to assign existing Timesheet Profiles to users, at the user level.

Timesheet & Hours: Hour Types Full access

No access

Access to assign Hour Types to users, at the user level.

Timesheet & Hours: Preferences Full access No access
Email: Notifications: Event Notifications Activate/ Deactivate all No access
Email: Notifications: Reminder Notifications Full access Full access
Email: Notifications: Email Templates Full access

No access

Access to add existing Email Templates to Reminder Notifications.

Email: Automatic Reminders Full access No access
Email: Invitations Full access

No access 

Access to resend email invitations to unregistered users only from the People tab.

Email: Setup Full access

No access

Scorecards Full access

Full access

Expense Types Full access

No access

Risk Types Full access No access
Access Levels

Full access to modify all access levels.

The System Administrator and External User access levels cannot be modified, by default.

No access

Assign an access level to other users which is lower or equal to theirs at the user level.

Interface: Layout Templates Full access

No access

Access to assign existing Layout Templates to other users, at the user level.

Interface: Update Feeds Full access

No access

Access to add fields to be tracked in the Update Feeds when editing Custom Forms.

Interface: Filters Full access

No access

Access to create new filters in a list of objects.

Interface: Views Full access

No access

Access to create new views in a list of objects.

Interface: Groupings Full access

No access

Access to create new groupings in a list of objects.

Interface: List Controls Full access

No access

Documents: Cloud Providers Full access

No access

Access to link documents to and from Cloud Providers from the Documents tab, after the Cloud Providers have been integrated with Workfront.

Documents: Metadata Mapping Full access No access
Documents: SharePoint Integration Full access

No access

Access to link documents to and from SharePoint from the Documents tab, after the SharePoint integration with Workfront has been configured.

Documents: Custom Integration Full access

No access

Access to link documents to and from third-party providers from the Documents tab, after the third-party providers have been integrated with Workfront.

System: Branding Full access No access
System: Customer Info Full access No access
System: Single Sign-On (SSO) Full access No access
System: Update Users for SSO Full access No access
System: Kick-Starts Full access No access
System: Diagnostics Full access No access
System: Preferences Full access No access
ACCESS TO OBJECTS
Calendars Full access Manage calendars they create and calendars shared with them.
Dashboards Full access Manage dashboards they create and dashboards shared with them.
Documents Full access Manage documents they upload or documents shared with them.
Issues Full access Manage issues they create or issues shared with them.
Portfolios Full access Manage portfolios they create or portfolios shared with them.
Programs Full access Manage programs they create or programs shared with them.
Project Full access Manage projects they create or projects shared with them.
Reports Full access Manage reports they create or reports shared with them. View, copy and edit system reports.
Tasks Full access Manage tasks they create or tasks shared with them
Templates Full access Manage templates they create or templates shared with them
Timesheets Full access Full access
Users Full access

Limited access

They cannot assign groups to users for which they are not a Group Owner.

They cannot assign an access level to users which is higher then their own access level.