Follow
Understanding Project Permissions

***

Users are first given system-wide access to perform specific actions, through the access level they are assigned to. For example, the ability of creating projects is given through the access level of the license assigned to the user. Only Plan license users can create projects. Then, users can gain access to specific projects by other users sharing the projects with them. 

The project owner as well as the project creator are granted default Manage permissions on a project. The owner needs to share access through permissions with other users. When sharing access, project owners determine the default permissions associated with each user. If the project owner is not a Plan license user, they will not have full Manage access to the project, as they are limited by their license type. 

External license users do not have access to projects, while users with a Review license can be granted View access only.

System administrators have access to all projects.

Project Access By License Type

The level of access around projects is defined at the system level by the license type the user is assigned to. For example, Workers cannot create projects system-wide and they only have limited edit rights for projects. Keep this in mind when giving sharing permissions on projects to a user with a Worker license. 

For more information about project access for various license types, see "Understanding Project Access."

Configuring Default Permissions for a Project 

As a project owner, you can configure the default permissions for View, Manage, and Contribute access that are used when sharing the project with others. When users share a project, the default permissions are used. Users can then adjust the default permissions when sharing the project, as described in "Sharing a Project."

To configure the default permissions that are included with each access level:

  1. Navigate to the project where you want to set the default permissions.
  2. Click Edit Project.
  3. Click Access to navigate to the Access section.
    access_project_1.png
  4. In the When someone is given access to this PROJECT section, select permissions that you want to be available when users are given access to the project via sharing.
    access_project_2.png
    Ensure that any permissions that you want to include in the selected access level are selected and deselect any permissions that you do not want to include in the selected permissions level.
    To view which permissions are available for each level, see "Understanding Project Permissions."
    NOTE The Delete access in the Manage permission level determines whether users can delete the project itself. Users with Manage access to the project can delete tasks and issues within the project regardless of whether this option is selected, if they have Manage permissions to the tasks and issues. 
  5. Click Save Changes.

Sharing a Project

You can share a project in the following ways:

  • By adding users to the project team.
    For more information about adding users to a project team, see the "Adding Users to a Project Team" section in "Understanding the Project Team and 'Projects I'm On'"
  • Individually or in bulk at the project level by using the Sharing link.
    Sharing a project is similar to sharing all other objects in Workfront.
    For information about sharing objects in Workfront, see "Sharing Permissions on Objects."
  • Automatically, by placing a project in a Portfolio or Program that is already shared with others. 
    For information about adding a project to a Portfolio, see "Adding Projects to a Portfolio."
    For information about adding a project to a Program, see "Adding Projects to a Program."
  • Automatically when you share the template used to create the project.
    For more information about project sharing at the template level, see the "Sharing a Project at the Template Level" section in "Understanding Template Permissions."
  • Automatically, when defining the project access template. 
    To define the project access template: 
    1. Navigate to a project whose sharing permissions you want to establish as the sharing permissions on all projects you want to create from scratch.
    2. Click Project Actions.
    3. Click Sharing
    4. Click the gear icon, then click Set as my project access template.
      The entities that are granted permissions on the selected project have the same permissions for all the projects you create from scratch in the future. 
      NOTE The project access template overrides the sharing defaults granted to you by the system administrator in your Access Level. 
      For more information about specifying sharing defaults for projects in the Access Level, see "Understanding Project Access." (this note also appears in Sharing Permissions on Objects.)
      project_access_template.png
    5. Click Save.

Understanding How Hierarchy Affects Permissions

Project access is  also controlled through object hierarchy. If the user already has permission on the parent object (such as the portfolio), those permissions transfer to the project. The users with permissions obtained from a parent objects are listed under Inherited Permissions.

Understanding Project Permissions

For users with a Work License,  the greatest sharing permission is Contribute. They are not able to have Manage project permission; therefore, they will always have reduced access to projects compared to a Plan license user. Request License users can view project information, but they will have limited project access. 

An exception to Change Status occurs when a user with View or Contribute permissions is also included in an approval process. They can approve, which will change the resulting status of the project, but the status will be the pre-defined status for approval or for rejection. 

To be able to copy a project, you must also have access to create projects. 

The following table displays the permission options for projects and it should be read with project access level in mind. For more information about the access users get based on their license, see "Project Access."

These are the permissions that project owners can include when defining the default permissions, and the permissions that users can include when sharing the project:

Actions

Manage

Contribute

View

Add Custom Form

 

 

Update Custom Fields

 

Add An Approval Process

 

 

Approve a Project

Approve hours

 

 

Create A Project

 

 

Add Document(s)

Add Issue(s)

Add Task(s)

 

Copy Project

 

 

Delete Project

 

 

Modify Planned Dates

 

 

Share Project

Share System-wide

 

 

View Project

Updates/ comments

Change Status

 

 

Log Hours

 

Edit Assignments

 

Manage Baseline

 

 

Manage Risks

 

 

Manage Finance

 

 

Add/Edit Expenses

 

View Finance

Attach Template

 

 

Save As Template

Add/Edit Business Case

 

 

Edit Project Details

 

 

Edit Staffing

 

 

Export to MS Project

Recalculate Finance/ Timeline

 

 

Set Queue Properties

 

  

Edit Project in Bulk in a List

   

 *** linked to Creating and Editing Risks on a Project (https://workfront.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/216673908)

 

This article last updated on 2018-06-26 15:11:48 UTC