Follow
Sharing Permissions on Objects

Object owners set permissions for the object they manage.  

Permissions work within access levels set by the system administrator. A user cannot be given permission to do something that is beyond their access level. For example, a user can't create a task on a project if the system administrator didn't grant them access to create tasks in Workfront in their access level.

Sharing Objects

  1. Navigate to an object that can be shared that you own or have access rights to.
    For information about which objects can be shared, see "Shareability of Objects" in "Permissions in the Access Model." 
  2. Do either of the following, depending on the type of object you are sharing:
    • When sharing a project, task, or issue: Click the actions menu, then click Sharing.
      For example, if you are sharing a project, click Project Actions, then Sharing.
    • When sharing a document or a proof: Select the document or proof that you want to share, then click Share.
  3.  In the Give object access to field, begin typing the name of the user, team, role, group, or company who you want to share the object with, then click the name when it appears in the drop-down list.
    For example, if you are sharing a project, use the Give project access to field.
    Repeat this step for each user, team, role, or group who you want to grant access to the object.

     

  4. Specify the permissions for each user, team, role, group, or company that you added in Step 3. 
    Click the drop-down menu, then select the permission level that you want to grant. The following options are available:
    View it: Users can review and share the item. 
    Contribute to it: Users can make updates, log information, make minor edits, and share, plus all View permissions.
    Manage it: Users have full access to the object, minus administrative rights which are granted at the access level, plus all View and Contribute permissions.
    NOTE The system administrator has the ability to remove permissions from these roles.

  5. (Optional) Click Advanced Options to set configure specific permissions on the object.
    View, Manage and Contribute have different advanced options depending on the the object and permission selected.  

  6. (Optional) Click the gear icon, then in the drop-down menu click Make this visible system-wide to make the object available to all Workfront users. All users can see the object based on the permissions that you set.
  7. (Optional) When sharing a project, click the gear icon, then in the drop-down menu click Set as my project access template to set the permissions as a template.
    After you have defined permissions on one project, these same permissions are automatically applied the next time you create a project from scratch.
  8. (Optional) When sharing a document, click the gear icon, then in the drop-down menu click Make this public to external users. Click copy link, then distribute the link to external users at your discretion. Any users with the link are able to view the document.
  9. Click Save.

Bulk Sharing

Users can be granted permission to multiple items via a list. Users who already have access to the object are not shown as available when bulk sharing.

Users access at the individual level can't be restricted if they have already been shared the item at the group/team/job role or company level. Furthermore, if they have access to the parent item (for example, project) they can't be restricted from viewing tasks, unless you manually remove the inherited permissions from the the tasks.

To bulk share items:

  1. Select two or more sharable objects.
  2. Click Share.
  3. Identify who will be granted permission and what rights they have. 
  4. Click Save.

Removing Permission

Users can be removed from a project in the same method they are added, via the sharing option. When removing a user from an object, the option to remove them from just the primary object or all related objects exists. For example, on a project a user can be removed from just the project, allowing them to view or contribute to any associated items they had access and may be working on to or they can be removed from all items. 

Removing Inherited Permissions

Inherited permissions can be removed from objects allowing for owners to specifically identify who will get access to children objects regardless of a user's access to a parent object. Only users with Manage permission are able to remove inherited permissions.

To remove inherited permissions:

  1. Navigate to an object that can be shared. For example, navigate to a task.
  2. Go to the sharing list as described in "Sharing Objects."
  3. Select the X mark next to Inherited Permission on the sharing box to remove anyone listed there.
  4. Click Save

Sharing Limitations

You can share an object with up to 100 entities (users, teams, groups, job roles, companies). We recommend that you share objects with groups and teams rather than with individual users, to avoid this limitation.