Follow
Understanding Task Permissions

***

Understanding Task Permissions

Your system administrator grants users access to view or edit tasks when they assign access levels. 

Along with the access level that users are granted, you can also grant them permissions to View, Contribute, or Manage specific tasks that you have access to Share. 

When you share tasks with users, you cannot give them permissions that are higher than their access level.
For example, a Reviewer cannot create tasks according to their access level, therefore, you cannot give them Manage rights to projects or tasks with Add Tasks permissions enabled. 
For more information about granting access to tasks, see "Understanding Task Access."

Permissions are specific to one item in Workfront and define what actions one can take on that item.
The creator of a task has Manage permissions to it, by default.

Sharing a Task

Consider the following when sharing a task:

  • You can share tasks individually, or you can share several of them at a time.
    For more information about sharing items in Workfront, see "Sharing Permissions on Objects.
  • You can grant the following permissions to tasks: 
    • View
    • Manage
    • Contribute

  • When you share a task, users inherit the same permissions to all the children objects associated with the task, by default. 
    For more information about the hierarchy of objects in Workfront, see "Understanding Objects."
  • You can remove inherited permissions from a task. 
    For more information about removing inherited permissions from objects, see "Sharing Permissions on Objects."

Manually Sharing a Task

Manually sharing a task is similar to sharing any other object in Workfront. 
For more information about sharing objects in Workfront, see "Sharing Permissions on Objects."

Automatically Sharing Tasks at the Project Level

As the Project Owner, you can specify the permissions on all tasks in a project when you edit the project. 

The permissions on tasks that you specify at the project level are applied to all tasks on the project. 

For more information about sharing tasks at the project level, see the "Access" section in "Editing Projects."

Task Permissions

The following table displays what permissions you can grant users when allowing them to View, Contribute, or Manage a task:

 
Action Manage Contribute View 
Add Task(s)  
Add Predecessors    
Add Issue(s)
Delete Task    

Edit Task
(excluding status)

 
Change Task Status  
View Task
Add Document(s)
Copy Task*
Move Task*    
Log Hours  
Modify Planned Dates    
Accept Assignment  
Make an Assignment  
Attach Custom Form    
Edit Custom Fields  
Create an Approval Process    
Approve A Task
Edit Finance*    
Add/Edit Expenses  
View Finance
Updates/Comments
Share
Share System-wide    

*Controlled by access level and the permissions on the project.

***

Linked elsewhere - don't rename or delete.