Follow
Understanding Document Access

Access is inherited throughout an object's hierarchy. Therefore, if a user has permission on a parent object (such as the portfolio), those permissions, called "inherited permissions," transfer to the project as well. 

Limiting Document Access

Occasionally, you may want to limit who has access to a document. Depending on your access level, you can remove inherited permissions from a document.  Once you have removed the inherited permissions, you can share the document with the users you want to have access. To learn more about access levels, see "Access Levels by License Type."

To remove inherited permissions from a document,

  1. Navigate to the Documents area for the object.
  2. Select the document, then click Share.

    The Document Access page opens.

    sanfran_bridge.png
  3. Click the"X" for Inherited Permissions.

    Inherited permissions are disabled.

  4. (Optional) To give document access to a specific user, enter the user's name in the Give document access to field, then press Enter.
  5. Click Save.

You can also determine who can have access to documents by using restricted permissions on an access level. In this case, users are not automatically granted access to all documents on a project. Instead, users must be explicitly given Share permission to each document. For more information, see "Creating or Modifying Access Levels."

Documentation Functionality Based on License

The following table displays document functionality available to users according to license type:

 

Action
(Access Level)

Plan
(Edit)

Work
(Edit)

Review
(Edit)

Request
(Edit)

External
(View)

Create  
Edit Document Details  
Delete**  
Download
Checkout  
Add Approvers  
Approve Document
Attach Custom Form  
Edit Custom Fields  
Move to (object)  
Send To (integration)  
Updates/ Comments  
Upload new version  
Delete Version  
View Document(s)
Preview
Proof  
Generate Proof  
Remove Proof  
Share**  
Share System-wide**      
Share Documents Publicly**        
Add/Remove*  
Rename*  
Link (with integration)  
Unlink (with integration)  

** This action is shared by both Documents and Document Folders. 

* This action is available only to Document Folders.