Follow
Understanding Task Statuses

 

Understanding Task Statuses

You can use the status of a task to show users in the system in what stage of development a task is at a given time. 

Accessing Task Statuses

As a system administrator, you can access system-level task statuses. You can edit some information about the system statuses or you can create new custom statuses. For more information about creating custom statuses or editing system statuses, see "Creating and Customizing Statuses for the Workfront Site."

To access system-level task statuses:

  1. Click Setup in the Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Expand Project Preferences, then click Statuses.
  3. Select the Tasks tab.
    The tasks statuses available in Workfront are listed on this tab. 

Understanding System Task Statuses

There are 3 original system task statuses in Workfront. As a system administrator, you can change the name of the system task statuses. You can also add new system task statuses to match the needs in your organization. You cannot delete an original system task status. 

Changing the status of a task is typically a manual process. However, there are times outlined in the following list when the status of a task is changed automatically, depending on other factors that are happening in the system. 

The following task statuses are provided with your Workfront instance:

System Task Status When this Task Status Occurs Actions that Happen when the Task Is in This Status
New This is the default status for every newly created task.  If the task is on a project in a status of Current, the tasks display in the Work Requests tab of the users who are assigned to the tasks. Users can now start working on the task. 
In Progress You may place a task in this status to indicate that work on that task has started.

When you mark a task as In Progress, the task shows a value for the Actual Start Date. 

 

Progress on the task is not recorded until you manually update the percent complete of the task. 

Complete

You can manually mark a task complete when the work on it is completed. 

 

When the Tracking Mode of a task is set to Autocomplete, the task is automatically marked Complete when it reaches the Planned Completion Date. 

When a task is completed, the percent complete of the task is marked as 100%. The task is removed from the assignee's Working On list when it is completed. 

 

When you mark a task as Complete, the task shows a value for the Actual Completion Date.

Creating Custom Task Statuses and Customizing System Statuses

As a system administrator you can add system task statuses to Workfront. As a group owner, you can add a custom status specific to one group. For more information about creating custom statuses, editing system ones or selecting new default statuses for your tasks, see "Creating and Customizing Statuses for the Workfront Site."

When you create a custom task status, you must always equate the new status with an existing system status. You must understand the behavior of the system statuses to know which status is appropriate to equate your custom status with. After you have selected your equal status this selection cannot be changed. For more information about the system task statuses, see "Understanding System Task Statuses."