Follow
Understanding and Managing Companies

**DON'T DELETE, DRAFT OR HIDE THIS ARTICLE. IT IS LINKED TO THE PRODUCT, THROUGH THE CONTEXT SENSITIVE HELP LINKS. **

Understanding Companies

A company is an organizational unit in Workfront. You can use companies for financial planning, reporting purposes, to define permissions around objects, and to keep information confidential.

A company can represent:

  • Your own organization.
  • A department in your organization.
  • A client you work with.

Adding a Company to Workfront

As a system administrator, you can add companies to Workfront. There is no limit to the number of companies you can add. However, we recommend that you use a limited amount of companies, because there are permissions implications linked to companies. Too much fragmentation might interfere with users' visibility to work items. 

By default, the company associated with your instance of Workfront is already created in your Workfront system and it is the primary company. Your company has the same name as your customer name. For more information about your customer information in Workfront, see "Configuring Basic Info for Your System."

To add a new company:

  1. Navigate to the Setup area in your Global Navigation Bar. 

  2. Click Companies.
  3. Click New Company.

  4. Specify the following information in the New Company form:
    In the Basic Info section:
    Company Name: Choose a name for your company.
    This is the Primary Company: Select this checkbox if you want to designate this as your Primary Company. The primary company typically represents your Workfront account, and most of your users are usually associated with it.
    By modifying their access levels, you can restrict users to only see users:
    - In their Primary Company.
    - In their associated company and the Primary Company.
    For more information about the primary company functionality within users' access levels, see "Creating or Modifying Access Levels." 
    You can have only one or no company designated as a primary company, but you cannot have multiple companies designated as primary companies. 
    Company Members: Add existing users to this company. By doing this, you are associating these users with this company. For more information about associating users and companies, see "Associating Users with Companies."
    In the Billing Rates section:
    You can override billing rates associated with your job roles at the company level. For more information about creating job roles and associating them with billing rates, see "Creating and Managing Job Roles."
    For more information about overriding billing rates at the company level, see "Overriding Job Roles Billing Rates at the Company Level."
    In the Custom Forms section:
    If there are fields that you want to add to your company that are not available in Workfront, you can build a custom form and associate it with your company. You can attach this form to your company by selecting it from the drop-down menu. 
  5. Click Create Company

Associating Users, Templates, and Projects with Companies

You can associate companies with both users, projects, or templates. 

Associating Users with Companies

A user cannot be associated with more than one company. 

Benefits of Associating a User with a Company

  • You can build a company's org chart, by associating users with direct reports. Only users from the same company can be added as direct reports of another user from that company. 
  • As a project manager, you can identify available resources within the same company.
  • You can keep information private between companies by choosing one or all of the following settings:

Associating a User with a Company

  1. Navigate to the People area in your Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Select the People tab.
  3. Select an existing user and click Edit.
  4. Click Organization.
  5. Select a Company from the drop-down menu.
  6. Click Save Changes.

Associating Templates and Projects with Companies

A project or a template cannot be associated with more than one company. 

One of the benefits of associating projects with companies is that you can report on project financials for each company. 

Associating a Template with a Company

We recommend that you associate your project templates with your companies, so you can have designated templates that are specific for each company's projects. For more information about creating projects using a template, see "Creating a Project Using a Template."

To associate a template with a company:

  1. Navigate to the Projects area of your Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Select the Projects tab.
  3. Click Templates.
  4. Select the template you want to associate with a company, and click Edit
  5. In the Overview section of the Edit Template form, select a Company in the drop-down menu.
  6. Click Save Changes

Associating a Project with a Company

  1. Navigate to the Projects area of your Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Select the project you want to associate with a company, and click Edit
  3. In the Overview section of the Edit Project form, select a Company in the drop-down menu.
  4. Click Save Changes

Restricting the Visibility of a Request Queue to Users from the Project's Company

When using a project as a request queue, you can allow only users from the company associated with this project to see the request queue in their Requests area of Workfront. 

For more information about setting up a project as a request queue, see "Creating a Request Queue."

  1. Navigate to the project which you set up as a request queue.
    Ensure that the project is associated with a company. 
    For more information on associating a project with a company, see "Associating a Project with a Company."
  2. Click More, then click Queue Setup.
  3. In the Queue Type section, select People in this project's company
    Only users associated with this company can see this request queue in their Requests area of the Global Navigation Bar. 

Sharing Objects with Companies 

In addition to the permissions outlined in "Benefits of Associating a User with a Company", you can allow users permissions to view, contribute, or edit objects in Workfront by sharing the object with their Company.

Rather than sharing an object with one individual user at a time, you can share it with their entire company. Each user in the company has the same permissions on that object. 

For more information about sharing objects, see "Sharing Permissions on Objects."