Follow
Creating and Managing Job Roles

***

Understanding Job Roles in Workfront

A job role represents a functional capacity or a skill set a user might fill. 

When making task and issue assignments, job roles can be used as generic resources for when you are unsure which user or team to assign to the work.

Before users begin using Workfront, you should create job roles that are relevant to your organization. You might also want to delete default job roles that are not relevant to your organization.

Creating a Job Role

As a system administrator, you can create job roles which can be assigned to users. Project manager can assign the job roles later to tasks and issues, as a place-holder until they know which user can perform the work. At that point, they can swap the job role with the user. 

To create a job role: 

  1. Navigate to the Setup in the Global Navigation Bar. 

  2. Click Job Roles.
  3. Click the +Add More Job Roles link at the bottom of the list of existing job roles.
    Workfront comes with 8 default job roles. 
  4. Specify a name for the job role.
  5. Specify a description for the job role.
  6. Set the cost and bill per hour rate for that job role. These values calculate the planned and actual cost and revenue of your tasks and issues, when multiplying them by the planned hours and actual hours logged for the tasks and issues. These values are reflected in the cost and revenue calculation for the projects. 
    Job roles are an integral part of resource planning. To use the resource planning tools, job roles need a cost and billing rate associated with them. 
  7. Click anywhere on the screen, or press Enter (or Return) on your keyboard to save your changes.

Deleting a Job Role

  1. Navigate to the Setup in the Global Navigation Bar. 

  2. Click Job Roles.
  3. Select the job role that you want to delete, then click Delete.
  4. If there are any objects (users, tasks, issues) that are assigned to the job role, do one of the following:
    • Replace the job role with a different job role: Select the new job role from the drop-down list.
      Any current and past resource allocations that are associated with the deleted job role are transferred to the job role that you select.
      Users who have only one job role assigned to them are reassigned to the job role that you select; users who have a secondary job role assigned to them are not reassigned to the job role that you select.
    • Delete the job role and its resource allocation: Select None from the drop-down list.
      IMPORTANT Deleting a job role deletes all current and past resource allocation related to that job role for all projects.
      For example, if a task or issue is assigned to only that job role, the task or issue is unassigned after the job role is deleted.
  5. Click Delete It.

Assigning a Job Role to a User

Users can be associated with one or multiple job roles. 

For more information about associating a user with a job role, see "Creating New Users."

Assigning a Job Role to a Task or Issue

After creating job roles in your system, project managers can assign them to tasks or issues. 

The process of assigning job roles is the same whether you want to assign them to tasks, issues, or if you are assigning job roles, users, or teams. 

For more information about how to assign job roles to tasks, see "Assigning Tasks."

 

**DON'T DELETE, DRAFT OR HIDE THIS ARTICLE. IT IS LINKED TO THE PRODUCT, THROUGH THE CONTEXT SENSITIVE HELP LINKS. **