Follow
Understanding Groups

 

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

Groups represent an organizational unit similar but distinct from teams and companies. You can populate Groups with users. You can also associate Groups with projects.

You can use Groups in Workfront for the following needs:

  • Grant access to users
  • Organize users according to your departmental structure.
  • Indicate ownership of projects.  

Groups coincide with departmental divisions. This allows for departments to keep their information such as users, templates, custom forms, and projects separate from other departments using Workfront. You can divide Groups into Subgroups.

You must have one of the following permissions to create or manage groups:

  • Only system administrators can create groups.
  • Users with a Planner license can be designated as Group Administrators.
    Group Administrators can manage members of a group they manage and can create subgroups to existing groups they manage. 
    System Administrators can override the changes to Group membership made by the Group Administrator. 
    For more information about creating and managing groups, see "Creating and Managing Groups" and "Managing Groups Membership and Subgroups."

NOTE In the Production environment, the Group Administrator is the Group Owner.

Granting Access to Objects

When you share an object with a group, all members of that group (including members of any subgroups) are granted access to the object.

For more information about sharing in Workfront, see "Sharing Permissions on Objects."

 Using Groups to Organize Users

When you create a user, we recommend that you add that user to the appropriate Home Group and Other Groups.

A user can have only one Home Group. A user can be a part of multiple Other Groups. For more information about creating new users, see "Creating New Users."

Being part of a group gives the user the ability to access objects that are shared with the group and the subgroups. For example, if you share a new project with a group, users in the group and the subgroups of the group have access to that project.

NOTE Only the following users can associate Groups and Subgroups with other users:

  • System administrators
  • Group Administrators
  • Users with a Planner license can associate only public groups with users.
    For more information about Group Administrators and public groups, see "Creating and Managing Groups."
    For more information about administrative and editing access to users, see "Understanding User Access."

Groups represent organizational departments in Workfront. Departments can work together to manage projects and the resources on those projects. If this happens often in your organization, it might not be necessary to divide departments into too many smaller groups; rather, a few high level groups should be sufficient. A group can have an unlimited number of users. 

Indicating Project Ownership

Groups can be associated with a project in order to indicate ownership of the project. This does not implicitly grant each member of the group rights to the project. In order to have rights to the project users must receive rights by sharing the project with them. 
For more information about sharing in Workfront, see "Sharing Permissions on Objects."

While users can be members of multiple groups, a project can have a single group associated with it. Users from other groups can still work on the same project, if the projects has been shared with them or their groups. The group associated with the project is usually either the group responsible for completing the project, or the group for whom the project is delivered. 

For more information about associating a project with a group, see "Understanding the Project Overview Sub-tab."

 

This article last updated on 2017-12-20 22:52:36 UTC