Follow
Moving Tasks

A user with the following access and permissions can move tasks to another project or within the same project:

  • Access to create tasks
  • Permissions to manage the project

There are two ways to move a task:

Moving a Task from a Task List

To move a task displayed in a task list:

  1. Navigate to the project that contains the task or tasks that you want to move.
  2. On the Tasks tab, click the Task List sub-tab.
  3. Select the tasks that you want to move. 

  4. Click the More drop-down menu, then click Move to.
  5. Type the name of the Project where you want the tasks to move. 
  6. (Optional) Select Next Step to clear any of the following options from the tasks: 
    • Constraint
    • Assignments
    • Approval Processes
    • Progress
    • All Predecessors
    • Financial information
    • Documents
      This includes versions, proofs, and linked documents. 
      This does not include document approvals. Document approvals can never be moved when a task is moved.
    • Reminder Notifications
    • Expenses
    • Permissions
  7. (Optional) Select Next Step if you want to choose a parent for the tasks moved to the new project.
    If you do not select a parent task, the tasks are moved as main tasks rather than subtasks and they will be placed at the end of the task list on the specified project. 
  8. Click Finish and Move Tasks.
    The moved tasks now reside on the specified project and are either subtasks to a parent task, or the last tasks on the project.

Moving a Task at the Task Level

In addition to moving tasks from a list of tasks, you can also move a task after you have opened it. 
This is helpful for ad hoc tasks, which are not located on a task list of a project. For more information on ad hoc tasks, see "Creating Ad Hoc Work Items."

  1. Find a task in your Workfront system by searching for it.
  2. Click on the name of the task to open it. 
  3. In the upper-right corner of the task, click Task Actions.
  4. Click Move.
  5. Type the name of the Project where you want the task to move. 
  6. (Optional) Select Next Step to clear any of the following options from the task: 
    • Constraints
    • Assignments
    • Approval Processes
    • Progress
    • All Predecessors
    • Financial information
    • Documents
      This includes versions, proofs, and linked documents. 
      This does not include document approvals. Document approvals can never be moved when a task is moved.
    • Reminder Notifications
    • Expenses
    • Permissions
  7. (Optional) Select Next Step if you want to choose a parent for the tasks moved to the new project.
    If you do not select a parent task, the tasks are moved as main tasks rather than subtasks and they will be placed at the end of the task list on the specified project. 
  8. Click Finish and Move Tasks.
    The moved task now resides on the specified project and is either a subtask to a parent task, or the last task on the project.