Follow
Updating Work

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

Making updates on work allows you to keep track of progress on projects, tasks, and issues.

You can make updates to work either from within a project or from the My Work or Home area. Regardless of where an update is made, the information ties back to the project.

The Updates tab available for users and teams shows up to 200 of the most recent updates that have been made within the past 90 days. 

Understanding Update Status

Projects, tasks, and issues each have an Updates tab with an update status feed that displays the following types of information:

  • User updates: User updates are comments that are entered by you and other users in your system. The following is an example of a user update in the Production environment:

    The following is an example of a user update in the Preview environment:


    User updates made on tasks and issues also display on the parent project. However, user updates made on documents within a project do not display on the project.

  • System updates: System updates or activities include removing assets, adding or deleting versions, attaching or removing an approval request, as well as any edits or changes made to the documents on the object.

    Depending on your Workfront license, system updates might be enabled by default. You can filter out system updates or activities so that you see only user updates for all objects, as described in Filtering System Updates.

    System administrators can determine what is tracked in system updates. For more information, see "System-Tracked Update Feeds."

    Comments added to system updates do not roll up to the parent object. Only direct updates on the child object and updates added to existing comments roll up to the parent objects.

Updating a Work Item

To make an update on a work item:

  1. Navigate to the work item for which you want to provide an update (such as a project, task, or issue).
  2. Click the Updates tab.
  3. (Conditional) If you are working in the Production environment, click in the Update Status box and enter your update.


    Or

    If you are in the Preview environment, click on Type an update and enter your update.
    NewUpdate_Type.pngThe update that you enter is connected to the work item.
  4.  (Optional) Format the update you make by selecting the desired formatting attribute on the toolbar.

    To learn more about using formatting tools, see "Making Comments."

  5. Specify the following information:

    Commit Date: For information about Commit Date, see "Commit Dates."

    How's this going?: For information about selecting a Condition, see "Setting the Condition on a Task."

    Status: Update the status by clicking the arrow beside the current status, and then selecting the desired status from the drop-down list. For information about setting a Status, see "Updating Task Status."

    Updating the status of a work item does not automatically change the status of a project. Depending on how your project is set up, you might need to make updates to the project status separately. For more information on the various project update types, see "Project Update Type."

    Completion Bar: Indicate the percentage of work completed by sliding the progress bar to the desired percentage. You can also double-click the completion bar and enter the percent complete.

    Including Others (available in the Production environment) or Notify (available in the Preview environment): Identify users who need to be notified of the update. Users assigned or subscribed to the object automatically receive notification when an update is made.
    For information about how to include others on an update, see "Including Others on Updates."

    Make this private to my company: (available in the Production environment) Clicking the lock icon turns it into a closed lock. Only people from the same company as yours are able to see this comment. 

    Private to my company: (available in the Preview environment) Disable to prevent users outside your company from being able to view this update. 

  6. Click Update to submit the comment to Workfront.  

Filtering System Updates

System updates record the following actions:

  • Removing assets
  • Adding or deleting versions
  • Attaching or removing an approval request
  • Alerting to edits or changes made to the documents on the object

You can filter out system updates and activities and display only user updates on all objects you browse. For more information about the difference between user and system updates, see "Understanding Update Status."

To filter out system updates:

  1. Navigate to the Updates tab on an object.
  2. (Conditional) In the Production environment, click Filter System Updates.

    Or
    In the Preview environment, slide the Show Activity Log toggle to the right.


    The Filter System Updates or Show Activity Log option is persistent across objects throughout Workfront and remains active, even if you log out of Workfront.

To once again view system updates in the Update Status feed,

  1. (Conditional) In the Production environment, click Show System Updates.
    Or
    In the Preview environment, slide the Show Activity Log toggle to the left.
This article last updated on 2018-04-04 17:51:43 UTC