Follow
Understanding Sharing Rules On Templates

You can share a template with users, or you can define how the projects that are created from a template will be shared with users by using the following sharing options at the template level:

Template Sharing

You can share your templates with other users using Template Sharing. This action defines who has permissions to the template.

To share a template:

  1. Navigate to the Projects area in the Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Select the Projects tab.
  3. Select the Templates sub-tab.
  4. Do one of the following:
    Click the name of a template, then click Template Actions, then Template Sharing
    Or
    Select a template from the list, then click Share, then click Template.
  5. Use the Template Access dialog box to select the people, teams, roles, groups, or companies the template is shared with. 
    You can also click the Options icon to make the template available system-wide:
    template_share_system_wide.png
  6. From the drop-down menu for each entity, select View or Manage, to give users the desired permissions to the template. 
    If you have View permissions to a template, to can View the template and can create a project using the template. Your system administrator must give you Edit access to projects to be able to create projects. 
    For more information about permissions in the access model, see "Understanding Permissions in the Access Model."
    If you have Manage permissions to a template, you can modify the information on the template.
    For more information about template permissions, see "Understanding Template Permissions."
  7. Click Save.

Template Project Sharing

Understanding Project Sharing from a Template

With Template Project Sharing, you can define who has permissions on the projects created from the template at the template level.

You must have Manage permissions to a template to define Template Project Sharing permissions. 
When attaching or saving a template, you can clear the Template Project Sharing rules.

To share future projects created from the same template with users:

  1. Navigate to the Projects area in the Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Select the Projects tab.
  3. Select the Templates sub-tab.
  4. Do one of the following:
    Click the name of a template, then click Template Actions, then Project Sharing
    Or
    Select a template from the list, then click Share, then click Project.

  5. Use the Project Access dialog box to select the people, teams, roles, groups, or companies the template is shared with. 

    You can also click the Options icon to make the projects available system-wide:
    project_share_system_wide_through_template.png
  6. From the drop-down menu for each entity, select View, Contribute, or Manage, to give users the desired permissions to the future projects. 
    Your system administrator must give you Edit access to projects to be able to create projects. 
    For more information about permissions in the access model, see "Understanding Permissions in the Access Model."
  7. Click Save.

Understanding Project Sharing from Other Sources

You may already have been assigned access to projects from other areas of Workfront.
You may have been assigned access to projects from the following areas: 

  • when a project is created.
    For more information about sharing projects when the project is created, see the "Access" section in "Editing Projects."
  • when your system administrator sets user access levels.
    For more information about setting access levels, see "Creating or Modifying Access Levels."
  • when using the project access template.
    For more information about setting a project as an access template, see "Sharing a Project."

When using the Template Project Sharing feature, if a user's access to a project is View, but you set the access permissions for Template Project Sharing to Manage, the user will have Manage permission for every project created using this specific template. The user will only have View permission for the other projects they are on.