Follow
Enabling and Disabling Proofing for Users

As a system administrator, you can grant and revoke a user's access to generate proofs in Workfront for documents or websites. Users must have access to proofing in order to create and view proofs.

As a user, if you have access to generate a proof, you can provide other users with access to review the proof who otherwise would not have access. 

Understanding Access to Proofing Functionality

The proofing functionality that users in your Workfront system have access to depends on your organization's ProofHQ account.

All proofing users in Workfront have access to Basic Proofing functionality.

Only users whose Workfront instance is integrated with a ProofHQ Premium account have access to Advanced Proofing functionality.

Basic Proofing

Basic proofing is comprised of the following capabilities:

Advanced Proofing

Advanced proofing is comprised of the following capabilities:

Enabling and Disabling Proofing for a User

Manually Enabling and Disabling Proofing

You can enable and disable proofing for users in Workfront only if you are a Workfront administrator.

  1. To enable or disable proofing for an individual user, navigate to the user's profile whose proofing access you want to modify, then click Edit User Name Info to edit the user's profile information. 

    Or
    To enable or disable proofing for multiple users simultaneously, navigate to the People tab in the People area, select the users whose proofing access you want to modify, then click Edit.
  2. In the Access section, select or deselect the User can generate proofs option to enable or disable proofing for the user.

  3. (Conditional) If the User can generate proofs option is selected, select one of the following ProofHQ permission options from the Permission Profile drop-down menu (For more detailed information about these permissions, see "User profiles and permissions."):
    • Supervisor: View all proofs.
    • Manager: (Default setting; Recommended if you are allowing all users to have direct access to ProofHQ within Workfront) View only proofs they own or create.
    • Administrator: View all proofs created on the account, and can edit account settings.
    IMPORTANT Ensure that the permission profile you grant to the user does not provide more access than the user's access level within Workfront. If you select a ProofHQ permission level in the Permission Profile drop-down menu that provides more access than the Workfront access level that is selected in the Access Level drop-down menu, the user can access proofs within ProofHQ that he or she does not have access to within Workfront.
    This is especially important if you plan to allow all Workfront users to access ProofHQ directly from the Workfront Global Navigation Bar, as described in "Configuring Whether All Users Can Access ProofHQ directly from the Workfront Global Navigation Bar." By default, only Workfront administrators have access to a direct link to the ProofHQ site from the Workfront Global Navigation Bar.

    Consider the following additional information when setting permissions:
    • If you change a user's permission profile to a profile with less permissions, the user might lose visibility to existing proofs within Workfront. This can occur when a task is shared with a user within Workfront, but the proof attached to that task was not explicitly shared. Users can share a proof within Workfront as described in "Adding Users to a Proof" in "Sharing a Proof."
    • You can set ProofHQ permissions from Workfront only if your Workfront environment is integrated with a ProofHQ Premium account. If you cannot use proofing as discussed in this section, contact your system administrator.
    • At least one user in your Workfront environment must have Administrator permissions for proofing. You receive an error message if you try to attempt to remove Administrator permissions for proofing from all users.
  4. Click Save Changes to complete the update to the user settings. 
  5. (Optional) When you enable a user as a proofing user, the option for proofs to be automatically generated is enabled by default. For more information about this option and how to disable it, see "Configuring Whether Proofs Are Automatically Generated."
  6. (Optional) When you enable a user as a proofing user, only users with an Administrator access level have the option to navigate directly to the ProofHQ interface from the Workfront Global Navigation Bar. For information about how you can enable this option for all proofing users in your Workfront system, see "Configuring Whether All Users Can Access ProofHQ directly from the Workfront Global Navigation Bar."

Triggering Automatic User Synchronization from Workfront to ProofHQ

When a user is created or updated within Workfront, and that user's Workfront email address matches the email address of a licensed user within ProofHQ, proofing is automatically enabled for that user within Workfront. 

For more information, see "Understanding User Synchronization between Workfront and ProofHQ."

Adding Proofing Access While Sharing

When sharing documents, object owners can specify if the user should be able to proof the document. Users that you share with are set with Reviewer permission within ProofHQ.
For more information about sharing proofs, see "Sharing a Proof."

Configuring Whether Proofs Are Automatically Generated

You can configure on a per-user basis whether proofs are automatically generated when documents are added to Workfront.

By default, any time a proofing user adds a document to Workfront, a proof is automatically generated.

NOTE If your Workfront account is integrated with a ProofHQ Premium account, proofs are automatically generated only for new documents. Proofs are never automatically generated for new document versions. 

To configure whether proofs are automatically generated when users add documents to Workfront:

  1. To configure this option for an individual user, navigate to the user's profile you want to modify, then click Edit User Name Info to edit the user's profile information. 

    Or
    To configure this option for multiple users simultaneously, navigate to the People tab in the People area, select the users whose proofing access you want to modify, then click Edit.
  2. In the Preferences section, select or deselect the Automatically generate proofs when uploading documents option.
  3. Click Save Changes.

Configuring Whether All Users Can Access ProofHQ directly from the Workfront Global Navigation Bar

By default, only users with administrative rights within Workfront can access ProofHQ as described in "Accessing ProofHQ from the Workfront Global Navigation Bar" in "Accessing ProofHQ from Workfront."

You can configure all users to have access to the ProofHQ button within the Workfront Global Navigation Bar by contacting Workfront Support and submitting a request.

IMPORTANT If you plan to allow all Workfront users to access ProofHQ directly from the Workfront Global Navigation Bar, ensure that the permission profile you grant to the user does not provide more access than the user's access level within Workfront. Doing so ensures that the user cannot access proofs within ProofHQ that he or she does not have access to within Workfront. For information about how to configure proofing access within ProofHQ and Workfront, see "Enabling and Disabling Proofing for a User."

Configuring Whether Users Can Access the HTML5 Proofing Viewer

The new HTML5 viewer is available to use for video proofs. You can choose whether the HTML5 viewer is used for users in your organization. (The current proofing viewer is used for static and rich media proofs regardless of the setting you choose in this section.)

By default, the HTML5 viewer is not used. You can set it as the default viewer for video proofs, or you can allow users to enable it for themselves.

  1. From Workfront, access the ProofHQ interface, as described in "Accessing ProofHQ from Workfront."
  2. Modify the HTML viewer settings, as described in "New HTML5 Viewer" in "General Proof Settings."