Follow
Managing Document Versions

Workfront enables you to create and manage versions of your documents.

You can create, view, download and delete document versions. Additional functionality is available for proofed documents, depending on whether you are a licensed proofing user. 

Creating a New Document Version

For information about how to add new document versions, see "Adding New Versions of Documents" in "Adding Documents to Workfront."

Viewing a Previous Version

  1. Navigate to the area that contains the document version you want to view.
  2. Click the Documents tab.
  3. Click Details on the document that contains the versions you want to view.
  4. Navigate to the Versions section of the right-hand panel.
  5. Click the document version you want to preview.
  6. Click Preview from the drop-down menu.
    Files that cannot be previewed (such as XLSX and DOC) are downloaded.
    [! Update screen shot when we go to Production (The new options will always show up)]

Downloading a Document Version

You can download a single document version, or multiple versions at once.

  1. Navigate to the document you want to download.
  2. From the Details tab, click the document version you want to download under the Versions section.
  3. Select the location on your computer where you want to download the file.

Deleting a Document Version

IMPORTANT: Document versions that were deleted individually cannot be recovered.

If you upload a version of a document by mistake, or a version is no longer needed, you can delete the version and maintain the original document. There must be a minimum of two versions or the Delete option is not visible.

Only one version can be deleted at a time. If a version is deleted, this action appears in the Updates on the document. A document uploaded after a deleted document receives the next sequential number. For example, suppose there are 3 versions of a document, versions 1, 2, and 3. If you delete version 3, the next document uploaded will be version 4.

Updates made on a version are retained even after the version is deleted. This means if you make a change, comment, or update on a version, or on a proof, that information and comment is maintained in Workfront, even if the document version is removed. Deleting a document version in Workfront does not delete the Proof version. 

  1. Navigate to the Documents tab on an object.
  2. Select a document with multiple versions.
  3. From the Details tab, navigate to the Versions section.
  4. Click the version you want to delete and select Delete. This allows you to delete the selected document version and free up storage space.
    [! Update screen shot when we go to Production (The new options will always show up)]

  5. After you click Delete, a dialog box appears to confirm the delete action. If the document is linked to an outside source, that link is deleted and the document is no longer accessible through Workfront. 

Managing Versions of a Proofed Document

You can view proofs from previous versions of a proofed document within the Workfront interface. Users with a proofing license can also view the proof details for previous versions of a proofed document.

Viewing the Proof for Previous Versions

Any user in Workfront with View access to the document can view past versions of a proofed document. It is not required that the user have a proofing license.

To view the proof for a previous versions of a proofed document:

  1. Navigate to the Documents tab on an object.
  2. Select a document with multiple versions.
  3. From the Details tab, navigate to the Versions section.
  4. Click the version for which you want to view the proof, then click View Proof.
    document_version_proof_view_.png
    The proof is displayed in the proofing viewer.

Viewing the Proof Details for Previous Versions

Users must have a proofing license in order to view the proof details of a past version of a proofed document.

  1. Navigate to the Documents tab on an object.
  2. Select a document with multiple versions.
  3. From the Details tab, navigate to the Versions section.
  4. Click the version for which you want to view the proof, then click Proof Details.
    document_version_proof_details.png
    The Proofing Details dialog box is displayed.
    proofing_details_dialog.png
  5. You can complete any of the following actions from the Proofing Details page:
  6. Click Done.