Follow
Deleting Issues

 

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

Understanding the Process of Deleting Issues

Access and Permissions Needed to Delete Issues

You can delete issues if you have the following access level and permissions:

  • You have edit rights on issues in your access level. 
    For more information about access levels for various objects, see "Access Level by License Type."
  • You have manage permissions on the issues. 
    For more information about issue permissions, see "Issue Permissions."
  • If the issue has logged hours, the system administrator must allow the deletion of these issues by configuring the Task & Issue Preferences in your Workfront instance. 
    For more information about enabling the deletion of issues where hours are logged, see the "Deletion" section in "Tasks and Issues Preferences."

The Impact of Deleting Issues

When you delete an issue, you impact other objects linked to the issue. 

The following objects attached to an issue are also deleted when you delete an issue:

  • Documents
    You cannot delete an issue that has a document which has been checked out attached to it. For more information about checking out documents, see "Checking Out Documents."
  • Notes
  • Approvals

Depending on how your system administrator configures the Project, Task, or Issue Deletion Preferences in the Timesheet & Hour Preferences of your Workfront instance, hours logged for the issues are handled in one of the following ways when deleting an issue: 

  • Move to the project and will not be restored on the issue, if the issue is later restored.
  • Be deleted and will be restored on the issue, if the issue is later restored.

For more information about configuring the deletion preferences for hours logged on issues, see "Timesheet and Hour Preferences."

The users assigned to the issue or to the issue approval remain on the project team. 
For more information about project teams, see "Understanding Project Teams."

Deleting Issues

Deleting Multiple Issues in a Project Simultaneously 

  1. Navigate to the Projects area of your Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Click the Projects tab.
  3. Click the project name that contains the issues you want to delete.
  4. Click the Issues tab.
  5. Select the issues you want to delete, then click More.
    delete_issues.png
  6. Click Delete in the drop-down menu.
  7. If the deletion is allowed, click Yes, Delete it.
    Your system administrator might not allow the deletion of issues where hours are logged. 
    For more information about the access and permissions needed to delete an issue, see "Access and Permissions Needed to Delete Issues."

Deleting a Single Issue

  1. Navigate to the Projects area of your Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Click the Projects tab.
  3. Click the project name that contains the issue you want to delete.
  4. Click the Issues tab.
  5. Click the name of the issue you want to delete.
  6. Click Issue Actions.
    delete_one_issue.png
  7. Click Delete Issue.
  8. If the deletion is allowed, click Yes, Delete it.
    Your system administrator might not allow the deletion of issues where hours are logged. 
    For more information about the access and permissions needed to delete an issue, see "Access and Permissions Needed to Delete Issues."

Restoring Deleted Issues

Your system administrator can restore issues within 30 days after they are deleted. For more information about restoring items in Workfront, see "Restoring Deleted Items."