Follow
Modifying User Assignments for Multiple Issues

You can simultaneously modify user assignments to multiple tasks or issues by using the bulk editing feature.

You might want to modify the user assignments for multiple tasks or issues for a variety of reasons, including the following:

  • Users join or leave your team
  • A user takes a vacation that extends beyond task or issue due dates
  • A specific role or user is set as the assignee for multiple tasks or issues and you want to quickly modify all items to be assigned to a different user or role

This article contains the following sections:

Understanding How Removing Assignees Affects Task Hours and Allocation Percentages

NOTE: The information in this section applies only when editing tasks; it does not apply when editing issues.

Removing users can affect task hours and allocation percentages. The effect that removing a user has on the task depends on the duration type that was selected for the task.

When you delete a user from a task:

  • Simple: The planned hours assigned to that user are subtracted from the task’s total planned hours.
    IMPORTANT: This could negatively affect your project plan because it changes the total planned hours for the task and the project.
     
  • Effort Driven: The allocation percentage does not change for other users.
  • Calculated Assignment: The allocation percentages of other users are adjusted so that the total equals 100%.
  • Calculated Work: The allocation percentage does not change for other users.

Modifying Assignments for Multiple Tasks or Issues

  1. Navigate to the task or issue list that contains the tasks or issues where you want to modify assignments.
  2. (Optional) Create a filter to filter the list for the assignee that you want to modify.
    For example, if your project contains a specific role as the default assignee for multiple tasks, you can create a filter to display only tasks with that role as the assignee. Then, you can replace the role with a specific user.
    1. Click the Filter drop-down list, then click New Filter.
      The New Filter dialog box is displayed.
    2. Click Add a Filter Rule.
    3. To filter on a role, expand Assignment Roles, then click ID.
      TIP: Do not use the Assigned to field source.

      Or
      To filter on a user, expand Assignment Users, then click ID.
      TIP: Do not use the Assigned to field source.
    4. In the drop-down list, select Equal as the filter qualifier.
    5. Begin typing the name of the user or role that you want to filter on, then click the name when it appears in the drop-down list.
    6. Click Save Filter.
  3. Select the tasks or issues for which you want to modify assignments, then click Edit.

    The Edit Tasks or Edit Issues page is displayed. The items that are being edited are displayed in the upper-left corner of the page.
  4. Click Assignments, or scroll to the Assignments section.
  5. Select Assignee.
    Information that is common across all tasks or issues being edited is displayed. For example, if the same user is assigned to all tasks, that user is displayed in the Assignee column. If information is not common across tasks being edited, no information is displayed.

  6. (Optional) Add a new assignee.
    1. ​Click Add Assignee.
    2. In the provided field, begin typing the name of the user, role, or team that you want to add as an assignee to all tasks or issues being edited, then click the name when it appears in the drop-down list.
  7. (Optional) Modify existing assignees.
    1. In the Assignee column, click the (x) next to the current assignee's name.
      The user's name is displayed in the Remove Assignee section.
    2. Begin typing the name of the user or role that you want to assign to the tasks or issues, then click it when it appears in the drop-down list.
  8. ​(Optional) Remove assignees.
    You can remove individual assignees, or you can remove all existing assignees.
    NOTE Removing assignees can affect the task hours and allocation percentages. For more information, see "Understanding How Removing Assignees Affects Task Hours and Allocation Percentages."
    • To remove individual assignees:
      ​Click the 'X' next to the assignee that you want to remove.
      Or
      If the assignee that you want to remove is not displayed in the Assignments section (because the assignee is assigned to only some of the tasks or issues that you are bulk editing), click Remove Assignee, begin typing the name of the assignee that you want to remove, then click the name when it appears in the drop-down list.
    • To remove all existing assignees: 
      Click Remove All Existing Assignees > Yes, Delete All Assignees.
      This removes not only common assignees (assignees that are displayed in the edit dialog box), but also all assignees on all tasks or issues.
  9. (Optional) Modify any of the following options for assignees:
    • Allocation % or Hours: Specify a new allocation percentage or hours. 
      These options can be modified only if the duration type is the same across all tasks that are being edited.
      If the field is blank, this means that the value is different across tasks; however, you are still able to modify it.
    • Task / Issue Owner: Select this option to make the assignee the owner of the task or issue for all tasks or issues being edited.
  10. Click Save Changes.