Follow
Why is The Issue Status 'New" When It Was Marked Done?

Resolution

If that user is in a Team then you need to check the 'Team Settings.' There is a setting for 'Done' to be associated with an issue status. 'People' > 'Teams' > 'Team' > 'Team Settings.' Most likely the team settings for this is set to 'New' for when the user marks 'Done.'