Follow
Creating Users

***

As a system administrator, or a user with a Plan license who also has administrative access to users, you can create users in Workfront.
For more information about the access needed to edit users, see "Understanding User Access."

There are a variety of ways to create users in Workfront. You can create individual users from scratch or by copying an existing user.

For information about how to import multiple users simultaneously, see "Importing New Users."

Prerequisites before Creating Users

Before you create a user, you should gather all necessary information about the user and plan which information you want to associate with that user. The following checklist will help you to gather all information that you need before you create a user:

  • Do you have all necessary personal information about the user? At a minimum you will need the following:
    • a full name
    • a user name
    • default password
    • an email address

    NOTE You can determine whether users can view other users' contact information by fine tuning the Users View setting when specifying access levels for Workfront objects. For more information about setting access levels, see "Creating or Modifying Access Levels."
  • What is the position of the new user within the company? Does this person have any direct reports? Who does this person report to? 
  • What job role does the person fill? Does this job role exist in Workfront? Is there a limit to the number of people who can fill this job role? For more information about creating job roles, see "Creating and Managing Job Roles."
  • What should the access level of the user be? Does it already exist or do you need to create a new one? For more information about creating access levels, see "Creating or Modifying Access Levels."
  • What home group should this user be in? Should the person be in more than one group?​ For more information about groups, see "Understanding Groups."
  • What home team should this user be in? Should the person be in more than one team? For more information about teams, see "Understanding Teams." 
  • What custom information do you need to associate with this user? If information about users is captured in custom fields that you created, you must have a custom form ready when creating a user. For more information about custom forms, see "Creating Custom Forms."

Creating a User From Scratch

  1. Navigate to the People area.
  2. Click the People tab. 
    poeople_tab.png
  3. Click New Person.
    The New Person dialog box is displayed. 
    new_person_dialog_box.png
  4. Click Advanced Options.
  5. Edit the fields available for the new user.
    For more information about editing users, see "Editing User Accounts."
  6. Click Add This Person.
    This creates a new account in Workfront for this user. If you selected to send an invite to this user, they should receive an email where they can follow a link to create their own password for Workfront. 
  7. (Optional) Click Add Person & Start Another to save the new user and add another one. 

Copying A User

You can create a user by copying an existing user. 

To copy an existing user:

  1. Navigate to the People area.
  2. Click the People tab. 
  3. Select the user that you want to copy, then click the New Person drop-down arrow. 
    new_user_from_selected_person.png
  4. Click New from Selected Person
    The New Person dialog box is displayed. Most fields are transferred from the selected user. 
    For more information about which fields are not transferred from the copied user, see "Understanding What Fields Are Not Transferred When Copying a User."
    new_user_bigger_box.png
  5. Edit the fields available for the new user.
    For more information about editing users, see "Editing User Accounts."
  6. Click Add This Person.
    This creates a new account in Workfront for this user. If you selected to send an invite to this user, they should receive an email where they can follow a link to create their own password for Workfront. 
  7. (Optional) Click Add Person & Start Another to save the new user and add another one. 

Understanding What Fields Are Not Transferred When Copying a User

Most fields are copied from the original user to the newly created user when copying an existing user. 

The following fields are not copied when copying a user: 

  • All the fields in the Personal Info section.
  • When I log in, show: The default landing tab for the access level is selected in this field. 
  • In the Global Nav bar show: The default tabs for the access level are selected in this field.
    For more information about what is the default landing tab based on the access level of the user, see the "Understanding Default Layouts for Each Access Level" section in "Understanding Default Layouts."
  • Direct Reports

***

This links to Editing User Accounts now - a backup copy of this original article was saved (AW).