Follow
Deleting Users

When a user leaves your organization, you might want to remove that user from Workfront.

Deleting vs. Deactivating a User

Rather than deleting users, we recommend deactivating them.

Deactivating a user causes the following things to happen:

  • Removes the user's licenses to both Workfront and Proof HQ, if the Proof HQ component is associated with your Workfront account. For more information about Proof HQ, see "Proofing Overview." 
  • The user can no longer be assigned work.
  • The user can no longer be added to updates.
  • The user can no longer be added to teams or groups.
  • Objects can no longer be shared with the user.
  • Their association with the following objects remains intact:
    • Tasks, issues, projects, portfolios
    • Documents
    • Updates
    • Hours
  • If the user has checked-out documents, the documents remain checked out when you deactivate them. Only a system administrator can check them back in.For more information about checking out documents, see "Checking Out Documents."

Deleting a user causes the following things to happen:

  • Removes the user's licenses to both Workfront and Proof HQ, if the Proof HQ component is associated with your Workfront account. For more information about Proof HQ, see "Proofing Overview." 
  • The user can no longer be assigned work.
  • The user can no longer be added to updates.
  • The user can no longer be added to teams or groups.
  • Objects can no longer be shared with the user.
  • Deletes the association of that user with the following objects:
    • Tasks, issues, projects, portfolio
    • Updates
    • Hours
      NOTE these objects remain in Workfront but the owner of the object is now blank.
  • If the user uploaded any documents under the Documents area in the Global Navigation Bar, the documents are  also deleted. 
  • If the user has checked out documents that they own and the documents are uploaded in the Documents area of the Global Navigation Bar, the documents are deleted with the user. For more information about checking out documents, see "Checking Out Documents."

For more information about deactivating users, see  "Deactivating Users." 

You can permanently delete users one at a time, or you can permanently delete multiple users simultaneously. When you delete individual users, you must wait for the deletion process to complete prior to moving on to other activities in Workfront. The process of deleting multiple users simultaneously runs as a background process, so you can continue using Workfront as the users are deleted.

Access Needed for Deleting or Deactivating Users

Only users with administrative edit access to other users can delete or deactivate them. For more information about administrative access to users, see "Understanding User Access."

Deleting Individual Users

  1. Click People in the Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Select the individual user you want to delete.
  3. Click More > Delete.
  4. Click Delete Anyway to confirm the deletion.
    The process of deleting a single user runs as a foreground process. You can continue to use the Workfront application after the deletion is complete.

Deleting Multiple Users Simultaneously

Depending on the number of users you are deleting, the process to fully delete users can take a few minutes or even a few hours. 

  1. Click People in the Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Select the users you want to delete.
  3. Click More > Delete.
  4. Click Delete Anyway to confirm the deletion.
    The process of deleting multiple users runs as a background process, so you can continue using Workfront as the users are deleted.
    After receiving the confirmation in Workfront that the users were deleted, you might continue to see the deleted users in your system until the background process of deleting the users is complete.
  5. (Conditional) If at a later time you discover that one or more users were not successfully deleted, try to delete the users one at a time, as described in "Deleting Individual Users."