Follow
Understanding Portfolio Access

Understanding Access in Workfront

For more information about the access model in Workfront, see "Understanding the Workfront Access Model."

Understanding Access to Portfolios in Workfront

Access to portfolios in Workfront is first defined by the system administrator through your Access Level. 

For more information about what access each Access Level has and to what objects, see "Access Levels by License Type."
For more information about granting access to items in Workfront, including portfolios, see "Creating or Modifying Access Levels."

The access granted to portfolios in the Access Level works together with permissions to a specific portfolio to give users their rights on a portfolio. 
For more information about permissions on portfolios, see "Understanding Portfolio Permissions."

NOTE You cannot inherit access to lower-ranking objects by having access to portfolios. For example, you can restrict a user from deleting a portfolio in their Access Level, but this does not restrict them from deleting projects, which are a lower-ranking object for portfolios. 
For more information about the hierarchy of objects, see the "Understanding the Interdependency and Hierarchy of Objects" section in "Understanding Objects."

Not all Access Levels can be granted access to portfolios. Users with a Plan license can have full access to portfolios.  

To grant full access to portfolios:

  1. Navigate to the Setup area in your Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Click Access Levels.
  3. Click Planner.
  4. For the Portfolios object, click the gear icon next to Edit.
  5. The following options are enabled by default:
    • View
    • Create
    • Delete
    • Share
  6. Click Save Changes and assign the Access Level to a user. 
    For more information about assigning Access Levels to users, see "Editing User Accounts."

Understanding Access to Portfolios by License Type

The table below shows what portfolio functions are available to users based on their Access Level. Administrators can restrict these to limit the actions a user can perform on portfolios in the Access Level of that user.

 

Actions
(Access Level)

Plan
(Edit)

Work
(View)

Review
(View)

Request
(No Access)

External
(No Access)

Create Portfolio/Program        
Edit Portfolio/Program Details        
View Portfolio/Program    
Delete Portfolio        
Attach Custom Form        
Edit Custom Fields        
Add/Remove Projects*        
Approve Projects        
Portfolio Optimization*        
Add Documents    
Updates/ Comments    
Share        
Share System-wide        

* These permissions are controlled by the access level and permissions of the project.
For more information about project permissions, see "Understanding Project Permissions."

 

This article last updated on 2018-02-23 20:58:28 UTC