Follow
Understanding Project Access

Understanding Access in Workfront

For more information about the access model in Workfront, see "Understanding the Workfront Access Model."

Understanding Access to Projects in Workfront

Access to projects in Workfront is first defined by the system administrator through your Access Level. 

For more information about what access each Access Level has and to what objects, see "Access Levels by License Type."
For more information about granting access to items in Workfront, including projects, see "Creating or Modifying Access Levels."

The access granted to projects in the Access Level works together with permissions to a specific project to give users their rights on a project. 
For more information about permissions on projects, see "Understanding Project Permissions."

NOTE You cannot inherit access to projects from higher-ranking objects. For example, you can restrict a user from deleting a portfolios and programs in their Access Level, but this does not restrict them from deleting projects, which are a lower-ranking object for portfolios and programs. 
For more information about the hierarchy of objects, see the "Understanding the Interdependency and Hierarchy of Objects" section in "Understanding Objects."

Not all Access Levels can be granted access to projects. Users with a Plan license can have full access to projects. 

To grant full access to projects:

  1. Navigate to the Setup area in your Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Click Access Levels.
  3. Click Planner.
  4. For the Projects object, click the gear icon next to Edit.
    full_access_to_projects_.png
  5. Select from the following options:
    • Create
    • Delete
    • Share
    • Share System-wide
  6. (Optional) Click set sharing defaults, then Add Rule to add sharing rules for the projects that are created.
  7. (Optional) Select an entity from the available drop-down menus, then a level of access for each entity.
    When the user with this access level creates a project, that project is also shared by default with the entities specified here. 
    NOTE If the user has saved a project access template, the template overrides the settings in the Access Level.
    For more information about project access templates, see "Understanding Project Permissions."
  8. Click Save Changes and assign the Access Level to a user. 
    For more information about assigning Access Levels to users, see "Editing User Accounts."

Understanding Access to Projects by License Type

The table below shows what project functions are available to users based on their Access Level. Administrators can restrict these to limit the actions a user can perform on projects in the Access Level of that user.

 

Actions
(Access Level)

Plan
(Edit)

Work*
(Limited Edit)

Review**
(View)

Request
(View)

External
(No Access)

Add Custom Form        
Update Custom Fields      
Add an Approval Process        
Approve A Project    
Create Project        
Add Document(s)    
Add Issue(s)      
Add Task(s)      
Copy Project        
Delete Project        
Share Project      
Share System-wide        
View Project  
Give Updates/ Comments    
Change Status        
Log Hours      
Edit Assignments      
Manage Baseline        
Manage Risks        
Manage Finance        
Add/Edit Expenses      
View Finance    
Attach Template        
Save as Template        
Add/Edit Business Case        
Edit Project Details        
Edit Staffing        
Export to MS Project    
Recalculate Finance/Timeline        
Set Queue Properties        

 * Work License users have limited project rights. They can Contribute to a project, but not manage one.  

**Review License users are granted View rights on projects from converted issues, but their View rights are limited. 

 

This article last updated on 2018-02-09 20:00:05 UTC