Follow
Understanding User Access

***

 

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

As the System Administrator, you can manage what Access Level users receive in Workfront by assigning them a license.

As part of their Access Level, you can modify what access they have for the User object. 

Depending on their license type, you can grant users access to either view or edit other users. 
For more information about Workfront license types, see "Access Levels by License Type."

Access Needed to View Users

By default, all users are able to view other users in Workfront. 

To modify users' access to View other users:

  1. Navigate to the Setup area of the Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Click Access Levels.
  3. (Optional) Select an access level and click Copy
    NOTE You cannot copy the External User and System Administrator Access Levels. 
    The objects for which you can modify access are listed in the Access Level.
  4. For the Users object, select View
    view_user_access__1_.png
  5. (Optional) Click the gear icon and deselect View Contact Info
    By default, users with a Plan or Work license can view the contact information of other users. Deselecting it removes this access. 
  6. Click Save Changes

The Access of External Users to View Users

External users are able to search for users by name. They cannot access the People area in the Global Navigation Bar, and therefore they cannot see a list of users in Workfront. 

 Access Needed to Edit Users

**^

By default, only users with a Plan license can edit other users. You can manage what information users can edit for other users in their Access Level. 

Any of the following users can create and edit other users:

  • System Administrator.
  • A user with a Plan license who also has administrative access to users.  
    Only the Plan license allows for this access.
    Users that are restricted to see only users from their company or the primary company only have access to edit users they can see.
    For more information about restricting users from seeing other users based on companies, see "Creating or Modifying Access Levels."
  • A user with a Plan license who is also specified as the manager of another user. 
    Users who are granted Edit access to users in their access level can manage users who report to them. 
    For more information about who the manager of a user is see "Viewing the Org Chart."
  • A user with a Plan license who created a user can deactivate, delete, or edit the user they created. 
    For more information about creating new users, see "Creating New Users."

To modify users' access to Edit other users:

  1. Navigate to the Setup area of the Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Click Access Levels.
  3. (Optional) Select the Planner access level and click Copy
    NOTE You cannot copy the External User and System Administrator Access Levels. 
    The objects for which you can modify access are listed in the Access Level.
  4. For the Users object, select Edit
    NOTE Only a user with a Planner access level can edit other users.
    user_edit_access_level_with_GA_box__1_.png
  5. (Optional) Click the gear icon to manage the Edit access to users.
    Select from the following options:
    • Create: Selecting this option allows users to create users.
      This option is enabled, by default.
    • Delete: Selecting this option allows users to delete the users they have created themselves. 
      This option is enabled, by default. 
    • User Admin (All Users): Selecting this option allows users to edit, delete, or deactivate all users in Workfront.
      This option is disabled, by default.
    • User Admin (Group Users): Selecting this option in addition to selecting the User Admin (All Users) option allows users who are Group Administrators to perform the following actions for users in the groups they administer:
      • Log in as them
      • Reset their password. 
        NOTE A Group Administrator cannot log in as or reset the password of a system administrator.
        When this option is selected and the User Admin (All Users) is deselected, Group Administrators can only edit, delete, or deactivate users in the groups they manage. 
        This option is disabled, by default.
         
  6. Click Save Changes

Actions on the User Object by License Type

The following table shows the highest level of access users can be granted by Access Level: 

 

Actions
(Access Level)

Plan
(Edit)

Work
(View)

Review
(View)

Request
(View)

External User*
(View)

Create

       

Delete

       

Edit

       

User Admin
(All Users)

       

User Admin 
(Group Users)

       

View User

 
View Contact Info        

*External Users can only search for other users. 

***

Don't rename or change link to the document. It is linked in several places.

**^Access Needed to Edit Users: Don't change the name of this section - it is linked in multiple articles: Access Levels by License Types, etc. 

 

This article last updated on 2018-01-10 23:09:31 UTC