Follow
Is it true that with manual upgrade users who are assigned to projects are no longer assigned unless you manually share the project again?

Resolution

With the manual upgrade,  assignees will still have access to all of the tasks and issues they are assigned to; however, assignees will not get permission to view the whole project. The project owner would need to share it manually with the people that need to have access to the item.