Follow
Understanding Early Access

***

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

IMPORTANT Starting in December 2016, Early Access has been deprecated and no new functionality has been added to this environment. The option to enroll users in Early Access has been removed from the Preview environment. The option the enroll users in Early Access will be removed from the production environment during the 2017.3 Production Release, scheduled for later in 2017. 

Understanding Early Access

Early Access is a deprecated program that allows users to see new Workfront features in the Production environment, and use them with their current workflows, prior to the features being made generally available to all Workfront users. 

Currently, no new functionality is being released to the Early Access environment. However, there are features available only in Early Access that were released here before the program became deprecated. 

For more information about what features are still in Early Access, see "List of Features Still Available in Early Access."

 

Enrolling Users in Early Access

As a System Administrator, you can specify which users receive these Early Access features. 

To enroll users in Early Access:

  1. Log in to Workfront as a system administrator.
  2. Expand System.
  3. Click Preferences.
  4. In the Security section, select the users who will be enrolled in Early Access, in the Give <Selected> users early access to featuresbefore they are released to the public. field
    select_early_access_users.png
  5. Click Save

NOTE Include only a small subset of your users in Early Access (such as system administrators and power users). Features that are available only in Early Access are not tested at the same level as features that are generally available. The option to enable Early Access for all users will be removed sometime in the near future.

In the past, some customers have encountered issues as a result of having all users in Early Access. 

To view and manage which users have Early Access enabled, follow the steps in the "Give Selected users or All users early access to features before they are released to the public." section in "Configuring System Security Preferences."

Users can see if they are enrolled in the early access program in their personal settings. For more information about how to find out whether you are enrolled in Early Access, see "Am I in the Early Access Program?"

***

This article should be removed from Help after November.