Follow
Creating and Managing Groups

***

Groups enable you to organize users and projects within Workfront.  

For more detailed information about how groups work within Workfront, see "Understanding Groups."

Groups generally coincide with departmental divisions, specifically when assigning access rights and permissions or performing searches. 

You can offload some of the administrative tasks of managing groups by designating group owners for individual groups. Group owners can manage group settings.

You can allow all users with edit user access to add groups to profiles of other users without making them group owners, by allowing groups to be public. For more information about edit user access, see "Access Needed to Edit Users."

Understanding Group Owners

If you are a system administrator, you can create a group and assign a group owners to manage that group. The Group Owner you assign can create subgroups within the group they own and manage them on a smaller scale.

For example, if you are the system administrator for a large company with many departments, you might not want to manage all the groups in each department. Instead, you can create one group for each department and assign each group a group owner. The group owner can create subgroups and create and control custom statuses within their groups and subgroups. This enables the group owner to retain information such as users, templates, custom data, and projects separate from other groups within the system. 

Group owners can perform the administrative tasks that are described in "Managing Groups."

Creating a Group

Only system administrators can create groups. However, as the system administrator, you can designate group owners who can help you manage the groups. 

You can create a new group, or you can copy an existing group to create a new one.

To create a new group from scratch: 

    1. Navigate to the Setup area in the Global Navigation Bar.
    2. Click Groups.
    3. Click New Group.
      The New Group dialog box is displayed.
      new_group_new_ui.png

      Or
      You can click the Add More Groups link to add a group in-line.
      Click Enter when you are finished adding the group information.
      Specify the following information on the New Group form:
      Group Name: The name of the group.
      Description: The description of the group.
      Make this group and subgroups public: Select this option, if you want all users with edit user access who are not owners of the group to add this group to the profile of other users. All the subgroups of the group are also going to be public. 
      Group Members & Owners: Displays all users and groups (subgroups) that currently belong to the group. These users and groups have access to all objects shared with the group. Begin typing the name of an existing user or group to add, then select the name as it appears in the drop-down menu.
      As you are adding users to the group, specify whether they are a Group Owner or Member. For more information about Group Owners, see "Understanding Group Owners."

      group_UI_-_toggle_between_member_and_owner.png

      NOTE Any group you add to an existing group automatically becomes a subgroup and is no longer a main group. However, the subgroup retains its existing users, as well as any associations with projects, issues, and tasks. The subgroup also inherits the project, task, or issue statuses that belong to the new parent group.
      Any subgroup that belongs to a public group is, by default, public, so any user with edit user access can add the subgroup to other users, as well. 
      Group owners have rights to manage the group, as described in "Managing Group Membership and Subgroups."
    4. Click Create Group.

Creating a Subgroup

As a system administrator or a group owner, you can create subgroups to a group. 

Subgroups allow you to add a large number of users to an already existing group. For example, you have a group of all IT Directors and a separate group for Help Desk Technicians. The Help Desk Technicians group has been given permissions to a Request Queue. You want to add the IT Directors to the group that has permissions to the Request Queue. Without the subgroup functionality, you would have to manually add the IT Directors to the Help Desk Technicians group, which could be inefficient and hard to manage. If you add the IT Directors group to the Help Desk Technicians group as a subgroup, you can accomplish this much faster and in one change. 

You can create a subgroup by adding an existing group as a member of another existing group, or you can create a new subgroup from scratch.

Users and groups that belong to subgroups have the same visibility and permissions as users and groups that belong to the main group they share. 

NOTE A user can belong individually to a subgroup as well as to the parent group. When you remove them from the subgroup, they remain part of the parent group. Similarly, when you remove them from the parent group, they will remain part of the subgroup. If you want a user to not benefit from the access allowed for the parent group, you must remove them both from the subgroups as well as the parent group, if they are listed in both places individually. 

For more information about creating a new subgroup, see "Creating a New Subgroup."

Copying an Existing Group and Subgroup

Only the system administrator can copy groups and subgroups. Group owners cannot copy a group or subgroup.

You can create a new group by copying an existing group. When you copy a parent group, all group members and subgroups are copied to the existing group. When you copy a subgroup, the subgroup becomes the parent group.

To copy a group:

  1. In the Global Navigation Bar, click Setup.
  2. Click Groups.

     

  3. Select the group you want to copy, then click More, and select Copy.
    The Copy Group dialog box is displayed.
    copy_group__new_ui.png

     

  4. Specify the following information on the copied group:
    Group Name:
     Enter a name for the group. By default, the name of the new group is <The original group name (Copy)>.
    Description: Specify a description for the copied group.
    Make this group and subgroups public: Select this option, if you want all users with edit user access who are not owners of the group to add this group to the profile of other users. All the subgroups of the group are also going to be public.
    Group Members & Owners: Displays all users and groups (subgroups) that currently belong to this group. These users and subgroups have access to all objects shared with the group. Begin typing the name of an existing user or group to add, then select the name as it appears in the drop-down menu.
    As you are adding users to the group, specify whether they are a Group Owner or Member. For more information about Group Owners, see "Understanding Group Owners."
    If the original group has subgroups, new subgroups are added to the new group, and their names are, by default: <The original subgroup name (Copy)>.
    You can eliminate any of the users or subgroups from the original group by removing them from the Group Members & Owners field.
    NOTE Any group you add to an existing group automatically becomes a subgroup and is no longer a main group. However, the subgroup retains its existing users, as well as any associations with projects, issues, and tasks. The subgroup also inherits the project, task, or issue statuses that belong to the new parent group.
    Any subgroup that belongs to a public group is, by default, public, so any user with edit user access can add the subgroup to other users, as well.
    Group owners have rights to manage the group, as described in "Managing Group Membership and Subgroups."
  5. Click Create Group.

Managing Groups and Subgroups

Many administrative tasks you can perform on groups in Workfront are the same whether you are the system administrator managing all groups, or you are a group owner managing a single group.

For information about how to manage groups in Workfront, see "Managing Group Membership and Subgroups."

**DON'T DELETE, DRAFT OR HIDE THIS ARTICLE. IT IS LINKED TO THE PRODUCT, THROUGH THE CONTEXT SENSITIVE HELP LINKS. **