Follow
Tasks and Issues Preferences

***

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

Tasks & Issues Preferences impact the creation and default settings for all tasks and issues in Workfront. They are set by the system administrator. 

Changing Task and Issues Preferences

To set system-wide preferences for tasks and issues in Workfront: 

  1. Log in to Workfront as the system administrator.
  2. Navigate to the Setup area in the Global Navigation Bar.
  3. Expand Project Preferences, then click Tasks & Issues.
    Make modifications to the defaults for the way you want tasks and issues to be handled in Workfront. 
    For more information about the information that can be modified in this area, see the following sections.
  4. Click Save.

New Task Defaults

Start Date on New Tasks

As the system administrator, you can set the default start date for new tasks for project managers. The start date for new tasks can either be the day the task was created or the planned start date of the project. 

Duration Type

Controls the relationship between the number of resources (and their allocation percent) and the duration or the total effort for the task.

Revenue Type

This is used to calculate planned and actual revenue estimates for a task. When the Revenue Type is set to Not Billable, the hours planned and the actual hours recorded do not generate a revenue estimate for the task, and the work on the task does not contribute to project-level revenue.

Cost Type

This is used to calculate planned and actual cost estimates for a task. When set to No Cost, the hours planned and the actual hours recorded do not generate a planned or an actual cost estimate for the task, and the work on the task does not contribute to project-level costs. 

Issues

Automatically set issue statuses to match the resolvable object using the Status keys

Resolvable objects are projects and tasks that have been converted from issues. In turn, the issues are resolving objects. The resolution of the original issue can be tied to the resolution of its resolvable object by using this setting. For more information on resolving objects, see "What is a Resolving Object?"

In order for this setting to have any effect, the option to Keep the original issue and tie its resolution to the task must be selected.

  • When this setting is enabled, you can create custom statuses with the same key for both issues and projects or tasks. When the project or task (as a resolvable object) turns into the custom status, the change also reflects on the status of the issue. The status key must be the same for the issue and project or task statuses. 
  • When this setting is disabled, resolving object statuses are automatically set to the default status, instead of the custom ones. For more information about the default statuses, see "Default Issue Statuses."

When converting an issue to a task

The settings in this section determine what happens during the conversion process from issue to task.
Keep the original issue and tie its resolution to the task: When converting the issue, it remains visible as an issue until the task is complete. The status of the issue automatically changes to Closed when the task completes.
Allow Primary Contact to have access to the task: Gives the primary contact (issue creator) access to the task to review the task, make updates, and stay informed of its progress.
Allow these settings to be changed during conversion: Allows the user who is converting the issue to change these options during the conversion of an issue to a task. 

When converting an issue to a project

The settings in this section determine what happens during the conversion process from issue to project.
Keep the original issue and tie its resolution to the project: When converting the issue, it remains visible as an issue until the project is complete.  The status of the issue automatically changes to Closed when the project completes.
Allow Primary Contact to have access to the project: Gives the primary contact (issue creator) access to the project to review the project, make updates, and stay informed of its progress.
Allow these settings to be changed during conversion: Allows the user who is converting the issue to change these options during the conversion of an issue to a project. 

Deletion

By selecting or deselecting the Allow users to delete tasks & issues with logged hours option, you can determine whether you allow the deletion of tasks and issues where hours are logged. This option is selected by default.

Deletion_section_in_Project_preferences.png

When this option is selected, you receive an informational warning when you delete a task or issue. The warning reminds you that if the task or issue has logged hours, they will either be moved to the project or deleted. You can configure whether the hours are deleted or moved to the project in the Timesheet & Hours Preferences area of the Setup. After you have confirmed that you have seen the warning, the task or issue is deleted. 
For more information about configuring Timesheet & Hours Preferences, see "Timesheet & Hours Preferences." 

When you deselect this option, you receive a prohibitive warning when you delete a task or issue where hours are logged. The warning specifies that the System Administrator does not allow for tasks or issues with logged hours to be deleted. The tasks and issues where hours are logged cannot be deleted. 

Actual Dates

When a task or issue goes from 'New' to 'In Progress,' set the Actual Start Date to

Select one of the following options for when the Actual Start Date is recorded in Workfront when a task or issue goes from New to In Progress:
Now: The Actual Start Date is set to the current date.
The Planned Start Date: The Actual Start Date is set to the Planned Start Date of the task or issue.

When a task or issue is completed, set the Actual Completion Date to

Select one of the following options for when the Actual Completion Date is recorded in Workfront when a task or issue is completed:
Now: The Actual Completion Date is set to the current date.
The Planned Completion Date: The Actual Completion Date is set to the Planned Completion Date of the task or issue.

Access

When someone is assigned to a a TASK

  • Give them ... access to the task.

Defines the default permission a user has to the task they are assigned to. For more information about task permissions, see "Task Permissions."

  • Also grant them ... access to the project.

Defines the default permission a user has to the project on which they have a task assigned to them. For more information about project permissions, see "Project Permissions."

  

When someone is assigned to a a ISSUE

  • Give them ... access to the issue.

Defines the default permission a user has to the issue they are assigned to. For more information about issue permissions, see "Issue Permissions."

  • Also grant them ... access to the project. 

Defines the default permission a user has to the project on which they have an issue assigned to them. For more information about project permissions, see "Project Permissions."

When someone submits a REQUEST

  • Give them ... access.

Defines the default permission a user has on a request they submitted. 

  • People from the same company will inherit the same permissions for all requests.

This field allows users to see requests submitted by other users from the same company as them. They have the same permissions on those requests as they have on their own submitted requests. 

**DON'T DELETE, DRAFT OR HIDE THIS ARTICLE. IT IS LINKED TO THE PRODUCT, THROUGH THE CONTEXT SENSITIVE HELP LINKS. ** 

** This is linked to Converting Issues.