As a system administrator, you can specify preferences for timesheets and hours in Workfront in order to define what items the timesheets can pre-populate with and what items users can log time to.
Any changes you make to timesheets impact all timesheets that are created in the future.
To set timesheet and hour preferences:
- Navigate to the Setup area in the Global Navigation Bar.
- Expand Timesheet and Hours, then click Preferences.
- From the Preferences page, select the preferences that meet the timesheet and hour needs of the organization.
In the General Preferences section, specify the following:
Log time directly on projects: Allows users to log time on the project (both on the Updates tab and timesheet). If users do not record time at the project level, this options should remain unchecked.
Log time on projects that are complete: Allows users to record time on a project that has been marked complete. If this option is disabled, users cannot record time for the work they have completed on projects in the Complete status.
Log time on projects that are dead: When this option is enabled, users can log hours on projects with a Dead status.
Log time on future dates: Enables users to record future time (both on a timesheet or a work item). Users typically are allowed to log time in the future because there might be times where they will be away from the office, but time needs to be recorded.
NOTE You cannot prevent users from logging time on tasks or issues that are closed or canceled. You can only prevent users from logging time on complete or dead projects. We recommend that you use filters in lists of tasks and issues to exclude the ones that have been completed or canceled from being visible to users.
Add expenses from a timesheet: Enables users to record both time and expenses in the timesheet.
In the Pre-Populate timesheets with ... section, specify the following:
Pre-Populate timesheets with work that is within ... of the timesheet's work range: Defines the number of weeks before and after the date range of the timesheet that contains dates of tasks and issues assigned to the user. The default setting is 1 week, and you can extend this range to 4 weeks. This means that the timesheet is pre-populated with tasks and issues which have dates anywhere between four weeks before the date range of the timesheet up to four weeks after the date range of the timesheet, if you select 4 weeks for your range.
Pre-Populate timesheets With... Tasks & Issues that have been completed: If multiple resources are typically assigned to a single task, we recommend that this value is selected. This means when one resource records time against the task and marks it as complete, the other resources assigned to the task can still find the task or the issue in their timesheet, to record their hours.
Pre-Populate timesheets With... Tasks & Issues that have Planned Dates in timesheet's date range: When selected, the timesheet includes tasks and issues that have either a Planned Start Date or Completion Date that falls within the date range of the timesheet.
Pre-Populate timesheets With... Tasks that have Projected Dates in timesheet's date range:
When selected, the timesheet includes tasks that have either a Projected Start Date or Completion Date that falls within the time frame of the project, even if the planned date of the issue or task falls outside of the timesheet date range.
In the Project, Task or Issue Deletion Preferences section, specify the following:
When deleting projects:
- Keep logged time already added to timesheets as general time (If this project is restored at a later time, the time remains on the timesheet)
- Delete any logged time (If this project is later restored, time already logged is restored to the project)
When deleting tasks or issues:
- Move any logged time to the project where the task or issue resides (If this task or issue is later restored, the time remains on the project)
- Delete any logged time (If this task or issue is later restored, logged time is restored to the task or issue)
For more detailed information about these options, see "Configuring How Hours Are Managed When an Object Is Deleted and Restored."
**DON'T DELETE, DRAFT OR HIDE THIS ARTICLE. IT IS LINKED TO THE PRODUCT, THROUGH THE CONTEXT SENSITIVE HELP LINKS. **