Follow
Creating Schedules

***

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

Understanding Schedules in Workfront

You can define your work week by using schedules. Each user and project can have a schedule, allowing Workfront to calculate timelines. 

The Workfront Default Schedule is used in timeline calculations when users or projects are not associated with a schedule. The Default Schedule comes with your Workfront system and cannot be deleted unless it's replaced with a new schedule you create. 

The system administrator identifies the hours of operation for the organization in a schedule.
Similarly, a group administrator can identify the hours of operation of a schedule administered by a group they manage.
For more information about group administrators, see "Creating and Managing Groups."
For example, a schedule can be defined as: Monday through Friday, 8 AM to 5 PM, with an hour break for lunch.

Workfront uses the schedule to determine when the work day starts and ends. This does not prevent a user from working on or completing work outside normal business hours. Generally, it is not necessary to create a new schedule or a schedule exception to focus on work planned in the evening.

Likewise, your organization may have flexible arrival times for your work day. You may have a set of employees that arrives at 8 AM and another set that arrives at 9 AM. It is not necessary to create unique schedules for each group, if the groups have similar or identical schedules. But  if the groups have drastically different schedules, their users should be associated with unique schedules. An employee understands if an assignment is due to complete at 5 PM it means the work must be done by the end of the business day, regardless of the time they comes to work.

We recommend that you create separate schedules for each time zone associated with the organization. You can assign a specific time zone for each schedule to ensure work is scheduled appropriately for users that work in different time zones.

Understanding the Hierarchy of Schedules

If a task is assigned to a user who is associated with a schedule, and resides on a project which is associated with a second schedule, you have at least two schedules that could potentially be applied to your timeline calculations.  

The order in which the schedules are used by the system when more than on exists is: 

  • When a user is assigned to a task, Workfront uses the user's schedule for calculating the timeline of the task. This also includes the personal time of the user. The schedule of the project is ignored. 
    For more information about personal time, see "Understanding Personal Time."
  • When multiple users are assigned to a task, and the users have different schedules during the timeframe of the task, Workfront uses either one of the following schedules:
    • the schedule of the user who is designated as the Primary Assignee
    • the schedule associated with the project.
      This depends on what you selected as a default for the When multiple users are assigned to a task, use the schedule of the ... setting in Project Preferences.
      For more information about project preferences, see "Setting Project Preferences."
  • If the user assigned to the task has no schedule, or the task is assigned only to a job role, Workfront uses the project schedule for the timeline calculations.
  • If the user assigned to the task has no schedule, or the task is assigned only to a job role, and the project has no schedule, then Workfront uses the schedule in the system designated as the Default Schedule for timeline calculations.
    default_schedule.png

Creating a Schedule

You must be a system or a group administrator to create schedules. 

As a group administrator, you can only create schedules associated with the groups that you manage. 

To create a schedule:

  1. Navigate to Setup in the Global Navigation Bar. 
  2. Click Schedules.
  3. Click New Schedule.
  4. Specify a name for the schedule.
  5. Select Default Schedule to identify this schedule as your default.
    You can have more than one schedule in Workfront, but you can only have one Default Schedule.
    You must have at least one schedule in Workfront. If you only have one, that is designated as the Default Schedule. 
    NOTE You cannot designate a schedule as the Default Schedule if you are a group administrator. Only a system administrator can designate a schedule as the default for the system.
  6. In the Schedule tab, select a daily schedule by dragging the blue outline across hour blocks to highlight them. 
    We recommend that you select 8 one-hour blocks over a 9 hour period of time. This accommodates for lunch or other breaks. 
  7. On the Details tab, specify the following information:
    • Group with Administration Access: Indicate the group whose Group Administrators have the permission to edit this Schedule. 
      IMPORTANT If you are a group administrator creating a Schedule, this field is mandatory. A group administrator can create a Schedule only designated for a specific administrative group or subgroup for which they are designated as the administrator. 
      When you manage only one group, that group is selected in this field, by default. When you manage several groups, you must select a group in this field before you can save the Schedule.
      If you are a system administrator creating a Schedule, this field is optional. When you are not associating a Schedule with a group, it is saved as a global Schedule, and it cannot be managed by a group administrator of any group. Global as well as Group schedules are visible to all users who can edit user accounts or projects when they assign schedules to these items. 
      For more information about assigning schedules to users, see "Assigning a Schedule to Users."
      For more information about assigning schedules to projects, see "Assigning a Schedule to Projects."
      Specifying a 
      Group with Administration Access for a Schedule does not assign the schedule to the users in the group. Specifying a Group with Administration Access only allows the Group Administrators in the group to edit, delete, and copy the Schedule. 
      Group Administrators cannot edit, delete, or copy global Schedules. 
      For more information about Group Administrators, see the "Understanding Group Administrators" section in "Creating and Managing Groups."
    • Select the Groups with View Access to which this schedule is visible to. 
      Only the users in the groups specified here can find the Schedule in the drop-down menu when they are assigning it to users or projects. 
    • Select the Time Zone for your schedule. 
  8. On the Exceptions tab, specify the exceptions to the schedule.
    Exceptions are full or half days which need to be excluded from the schedule, such as holidays or company events. 
    NOTE If you already know what your recurring schedule exceptions are, you can define your schedule exceptions for many years in the future.
    Full or partial days can be excluded from the work schedule. Click the date to select it as an exception, then select the All day field to indicate whether the exception is a full day or not.
  9. Specify the start and end time for the partial day exceptions.
  10. Click Save.
  11. Click Save Changes.

Assigning a Schedule to Users and Projects

Assigning a Schedule to Users

  1. Navigate to the People area on the Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Click the People tab.
  3. Select the user who you want to associate with a schedule.
  4. Click Edit.
  5. Click Resource Planning.
  6. Find the Schedule drop-down menu and select the schedule you want to associate with the user.
  7. Click Save Changes

Assigning a Schedule to Projects

  1. Navigate to the Projects area on the Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Click the Projects tab.
  3. Select the project you want to associate with a schedule.
  4. Click Edit.
  5. Click Settings.
  6. Find the Schedule drop-down menu and select the schedule you want to associate with the project.
  7. Click Save Changes.

**DON'T DELETE, DRAFT OR HIDE THIS ARTICLE. IT IS LINKED TO THE PRODUCT, THROUGH THE CONTEXT SENSITIVE HELP LINKS. **

*** Linked to Editing Users, Editing Projects, Creating and managing groups, etc