Recalculating Timelines allows managers to see how forces outside of the project are impacting the project's timeline. (A project's timeline refers to planned dates and projected dates.)
Making changes to schedules, personnel time off, and other items outside the scope of a project do not impact the project timeline immediately. The project timeline is impacted when the timeline is recalculated. External influences do not take effect on your project until the recalculation occurs.
Recalculation happens in either of the following ways:
- Understanding Automatic Recalculation of Project Timelines
- Actions That Trigger an Automatic Recalculation of Project Timelines
By default, project timelines are automatically recalculated each night, and individual projects are automatically recalculated when the project scope changes.
System administrators can change this default functionality, as described in "Configuring Timeline Recalculations for Projects."
You can configure how frequently the timeline for your project is updated. When the project timeline is updated, it is recalculated based on changes made to the project or changes made to another project that the timeline is dependent on.
You can configure how the timeline for your project is updated:
- Navigate to the project for which you want to configure how the timeline is updated.
- Click Edit Project.
- Click Settings.
The Edit Project dialog box is displayed.
- In the Update Type drop-down list, select from the following options:
Automatic and On Change: (Default setting) The project timeline is updated each time a change occurs in the project or in another project that the timeline is dependent on. The project timeline is also updated each night.
This is the recommended setting for this field because it ensures that the project timeline is always up to date.
When you perform an action on a task or project that triggers a timeline recalculation, all available dates are immediately displayed, allowing you to continue working. On projects with more than 100 tasks, dates that require longer recalculations display briefly as a question mark (between 1 and 5 seconds, or up to a minute for large projects). This indicates that the recalculation is not yet finished, and the dates are subject to change.
Change Only: The project timeline is updated each time a change occurs in the project or in another project that the timeline is dependent on; scheduled updates do not occur.
You might want to select this option if changes rarely occur in the project or in other projects that the timeline is dependent on.
Automatic Only: The project timeline is updated each night; it is not updated immediately after changes are made.
You might want to select this option if many changes occur each day in the project or in other projects that the timeline is dependent on.
Manual Only: The project timeline is updated only when you select the option to Recalculate Timelines, as described in "Manual Recalculation."
You might want to select this option if you are making many changes to the project at one time, and you want the timeline recalculation to occur after all of the changes have been made (rather than after each individual change).
For more information about the project Update Type, see "Selecting the Project Update Type."
NOTE If the timeline of a project is longer than 15 years, the automatic recalculation is disabled. If you change the dates on the project to less than 15 years, you must manually recalculate your timeline one time before it is calculated automatically.
- Click Save Changes.
Various actions automatically recalculate the timeline of a project, including:
- Updating task status.
- Moving a task to a different project.
- Updating the Planned Date or Planned Completion Dates of the tasks.
- Updating the Duration Type, Task Constraint, or the number of assignees on the tasks.
- Updating task predecessor relationships.
- Adding an approval to a task that also adds time to the Planned Completion Date of the task.
For more information about approval settings, see "Establishing Approval Settings."
Project owners can manually recalculate the timelines for their individual projects. The Workfront administrator can manually recalculate all timelines in Workfront.
- Recalculating Timelines for Individual Projects
- Recalculating Timelines for the Entire Workfront Site (Administrators Only)
To recalculate the timeline for a single project:
- Navigate to the project for which you want to recalculate the timeline.
- Click Project Actions, then click Recalculate Timeline.
After the timeline is recalculated, you see a message indicating that the recalculation was successful.
Before the timeline recalculation is finished, some planned or projected dates might display as dimmed. This means that the recalculation is not yet finished, and the dates are subject to change.
Workfront administrators can run the Recalculate Timeline diagnostic to immediately recalculate all timelines in the Workfront system. This allows all Project Managers to see the influence of external changes immediately on both planned and projected dates.
For more information about recalculating timelines for the entire Workfront site, see "Recalculating Timelines for the Entire Workfront Site" in "Configuring Timeline Recalculations for Projects."
This is linked to Editing Projects - https://workfront.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/216676478