Follow
Managing a Project in an Agile View

You can leverage agile functionality for your project (such as story boards and burndown charts) without the administrative challenges that typically accompany agile practices (such as managing a team backlog, creating iterations, and so forth).

If you want to work in a more pure agile environment that uses a team backlog and allows you to create iterations from tasks on the backlog, follow the instructions in "Working in an Agile Environment."

Understanding Agile Projects

Agile Functionality in a Project

The following agile functionality is available when managing a project in an agile view:

There are some differences when using agile views on a project versus working in a pure agile environment (with backlogs and iterations). For more information, see "Differences When Using the Agile View on a Project versus on an Iteration."

Differences When Using the Agile View on a Project versus on an Iteration

Tasks and Subtasks Follow Different Display Rules on the Story Board

  • Tasks that have neither a parent task nor a subtask are always displayed as a single story card on the story board.
    For example, these tasks appear as follows in the project list view:

    These tasks appear as follows in the project agile view:
  • Parent tasks that have subtasks are always displayed in the Stories column of the story board. Subtasks are displayed in the swimlane of the parent task.
    For example, these tasks appear as follows in the project list view:

    These tasks appear as follows in the project agile view:
  • Second-level subtasks (subtasks of subtasks) are displayed as a hanging gray card off the immediate parent task.
  • Third-level subtasks (subtasks of subtasks of subtasks) are never displayed on the story board.

Backlogs and Iterations Are Not Used

When viewing a project in an agile view, the following agile components are not used:

  • Backlog: No backlog is used because any tasks in the project are automatically displayed as stories.
  • Iterations: Rather than creating iterations to define the dates when work will be accomplished, the days currently designated on the project timeline become the working days.

Burndown Chart Includes Days after the Planned Completion Date

If you view the project in an agile view on a day after the Planned Completion Date, the burndown chart displays all days after the Planned Completion Date to the current date. 

The ideal burndown rate still calculates the ideal burndown to finish on the Planned Completion Date, even when viewing the project after the Planned Completion Date has passed.

Task Order Is Maintained in the Agile View and Cannot Be Reordered

The order in which tasks appear in a project is maintained when you view the project in an agile story board.

You cannot reaorder tasks in the project when viewing the project in an agile view. Because modifying the task order can affect other tasks that might have dependencies, you must view the project in a standard view in order to modify task order.

Tasks Are Measured Only in Planned Hours

Tasks on a project are always measured in Planned Hours.

In an iteration, tasks (stories) can be measured in hours or points.

The Agile Team Is Not Used

Because agile teams complete the work on iterations that are assigned to them, agile teams are not used when viewing a project in an agile view.

Instead, any users on the project essentially become the agile team for that project.

Each User on the Project Can View the Project in a Different Agile View

Unlike an agile iteration, users on a project can customize the agile view for themselves, while other users use a different agile view.

In an agile iteration, the information that is available on the agile story board (such as status columns that are available) is determined on the team level.

For information about how to customize an agile view, see "Creating and Customizing an Agile View" in "Creating and Customizing Views." 

Viewing a Project in an Agile View

  1. Navigate to the project you want to view in an agile view.
  2. Click the Agile icon.

    The project is displayed in the default agile view.
    If you previously viewed the project in a custom agile view, the project is displayed in that view rather than in the default agile view.
    [! Update screen shot]
  3. (Optional) If you have created a custom agile view, or if another user has created a custom agile view and shared it with you, you can view it instead of the default agile view.
    Click the View drop-down menu, then click the custom agile view you want to view.

    The custom agile view is used the next time you click the Agile icon.
    For information about how to create a new agile view, see "Creating and Customizing Agile Views."
    The project is displayed in the custom agile view.
  4. (Conditional) If tasks in your project are using statuses other than "New," "In Progress," or "Complete" (the default statuses for the Agile view), you must add the additional statuses to the agile view for any tasks in those statuses to be displayed.
    If tasks are in a status that is not displayed on the agile story board, the task itself is not displayed on the agile story board (however, the Percent Complete of these tasks still contribute to the Percent Complete of any parent tasks and the Percent Complete of the overall project).
    To add statuses to the agile view, either create a new agile view or customize an existing agile view, as described in "Creating or Customizing an Agile View" in "Creating and Customizing Views."
  5. (Optional) To return to the list view, click the List icon.

Creating and Customizing Agile Views

As with standard views in Workfront, you can customize existing agile Views or create new agile Views from scratch. Unlike standard views, you cannot create new agile Views based on existing agile Views.

For more information about creating and customizing agile views, see "Creating and Customizing an Agile View" in "Creating and Customizing Views." 

Sharing an Existing Agile View

For information about how to share an agile view, see "Sharing a Filter, View, or Grouping."

Removing an Existing Agile View

For information about how to delete a view, see "Removing a View" in "Creating and Customizing Views."