Follow
Delegating Approval Requests

You can configure all approval requests to be delegated to another user for a specified period of time.

For example, if you are going on vacation for a week and will not be able to respond to approval requests, you can configure all approval requests to be delegated to another user.

The system administrator can disable this functionality, as described in"Establishing Approval Settings."

Understanding Approval Delegation

Supported Approval Types

You can delegate the following types of approvals, regardless of how the approval was assigned to you (whether assigned directly to you, to a team you are a member of, or to your job role):

  • Project approvals
  • Task approvals
  • Issue approvals

You cannot delegate timesheet and document approvals.

Understanding Access

During the time that approvals are being delegated, the user to whom you are delegating approval requests has the following abilities:

  • Can approve or reject existing approval requests where no decision has been made.
  • Can approve and reject new approval requests that are received during the specified time period.
  • Is granted View access to objects that are awaiting approval.
    NOTE The system administrator can restrict users from accessing certain object types. When a user does not have access to an object type and an approval of that type is delegated to the user, the user does not have View access to the object. However, the user can still approve or reject approvals from the My Work page, as described in Approving Work.
    For example, User A belongs to Group A. The system administrator has restricted the access rights of Group A so that users in this group cannot view tasks within Workfront. If a task approval request is delegated to User A, User A cannot view the task that the approval is associated with. However, User A can approve or reject the approval from the My Work page. 
    For information about how the system administrator can restrict access to object types within Setup, see "Creating or Modifying Access Levels." 
  • Access to approve work for items that require approval is removed.
  • Future work items are no longer delegated.
  • View access to work items remains.
    Users who have been granted View access to objects via an approval delegation retain that View access even after the approval delegation stops or is recalled. To remove View access to any objects that the user had access to during the time that approvals were being delegated, you must navigate to the object and remove access rights directly from the object.

Understanding Notifications

Activity regarding approvals is displayed on the update stream. Both the user delegating the approval and the user to whom approvals are being delegated receive an email notification regarding approval activity.​

Delegating Your Approvals to Another User

You can delegate approvals to another user.

Consider the following when delegating approvals:

  • When you delegate approvals, all your approvals are delegated. You cannot delegate individual approval requests.
  • You can delegate approvals to only one user; you cannot delegate approvals to multiple users at the same time.
    All approvals for all projects, tasks, and issues are delegated to the user who you designate.
  • A maximum of 5 users can delegate approvals to the same user at the same time. In other words, a single user cannot be designated as a temporary approver for more than 5 users at the same time.

To delegate approvals to another user:

  1. Click My Work (for users with a Plan or Work license) or click My Updates (for users with a Review license) in the Global Navigation Bar, click the Approvals tab, then click My Approvals.
    Or
    Navigate to your user profile page (click your user avatar in the upper-right corner of any Workfront page, then click your user name), click More > Time-off.
  2. Click Delegate My Approvals.
  3. Specify the following information:
    Delegate My Approvals To: Begin typing the name of the user who you want to forward approvals to, then click the name when it appears in the drop-down list.
    Start: Select the date for approvals to begin being forwarded. Forwarding begins at 12a.m. on the date that you select.
    The Start date must be the current date or a future date.
    End: Do one of the following:
    • Select the date for approvals to stop being forwarded. Forwarding ends at 11:59p.m. on the date that you select.
    • Select No end date to configure Workfront to forward approvals indefinitely.
  4. Click Save.
    The following message is displayed at the top of your My Approvals list, indicating the user who you are delegating approval requests to and the specified length of time:

    The period when approvals are delegated is shown in the time-off calendar.

Updating or Stopping an Approval Delegation

You can update or stop an approval delegation that you previously configured.

For information about how access is handled after delegation stops, see Managing Approvals Understanding Access." 

  1. Click My Work (for users with a Plan or Work license) or click My Updates (for users with a Review license) in the Global Navigation Bar, click the Approvals tab, then click My Approvals.
    Or
    Navigate to your user profile page (click your user avatar in the upper-right corner of any Workfront page, then click your user name), click More > Time-off.
  2. At the top of your My Approvals list, click the message that states the user who you are delegating approval requests to and the specified length of time:
  3. (Conditional) To update the existing approval delegation, change any of the information, as described in Step 3 in "Delegating Your Approvals to Another User," then click Save.
  4. (Conditional) To stop the existing delegation, click Stop Delegation, then click Stop Delegation again to confirm that you want the delegation to stop, and to recall all existing delegations.

Viewing Approvals That Have Been Delegated to You

You cannot delegate approvals that are being delegated to you. You can delegate only your own approvals.

  1. Click My Work (for users with a Plan or Work license) or click My Updates (for users with a Review license) in the Global Navigation Bar, click the Approvals tab, then click My Approvals.
    All approvals are displayed in the list by default, including approvals assigned to you and approvals delegated to you.
  2. (Optional) To view only approvals that have been delegated to you:
    In the Filter drop-down list, select Delegated Approvals.

    Delegated approvals have a different background color and logo to differentiate them from your own approvals.