Follow
Creating and Customizing Group Statuses

As a group owner, you can create new statuses or customize existing statuses for your groups. For more information about group owners, see "Understanding Group Owners" in "Creating and Managing Groups."

You can customize only the statuses that the system administrator has configured to be customized.

The statuses that are available on projects, tasks, and issues are determined based on the group that is associated with the project.

Creating and Customizing a Status

  1. In the Global Navigation Bar, click Setup.
  2. Click Groups.
  3. Select the group where you want to set the default statuses.
  4. Click Settings.

    The settings page for the group is displayed with a list of available statuses.
    The system administrator determines which statuses are available for you to view and manage, as described in "Creating and Customizing Statuses for the Workfront Site."
  5. Do any of the following:
    • Create a new status: Click Add a New Status.
    • Edit an existing status: Mouse over the status you want to edit, click Edit, then specify a new name for the status.
      You can edit only the statuses that the system administrator has configured to be customized. Statuses that are locked cannot be customized.

  6. If you are creating a new status or editing an existing status, specify the following information:
    Status Name: Specify a name for the new status. This is a required field.
    Description:
    (Optional) Provide a description of the status. This communicates to those using the status of its purpose and use.
    Color: Customize the color of the status by clicking the color field and selecting a color from the swatch panel. You can also enter a hex number in the field. The status color can be displayed on a report in a view or a chart. For more information, see "Creating a Report."
    Equates With: Select one of the options from the list that best describes the function of your new status. For example, if the new status name is 'Done,' then the option it equates with would be 'Complete.' Every status you create must equate with one of the options in the drop-down menu. This determines how the new status functions.
    This option cannot be modified after the status is created.
    Key: If you are modifying an existing status, this option cannot be changed.
    If you are creating a new status, enter a code or abbreviation of your new status that is recognizable to your organization. This key can be used for reporting purposes and it must be unique across the Workfront site.
    As a Group Owner, you do not have visibility to all statuses in the Workfront system. If you attempt to specify a key that is already in use in the system, the field turns red. 
    You cannot change the key code for Planning, Current, and Complete statuses. This is important if you are building a report in text mode.
    This option cannot be modified after the status is created.
    Hide Status: (Applies only to Project and Task statuses) Select this option if you want the status to remain hidden from users. By default, this option is disabled (when this option is disabled, all users in the group can access the status).
  7. Click Save.
    The status is now available for all members of the group. The status is available only on projects associated with that group.
  8. (Optional) You can set the custom status as a default status for the group. A custom status that you set as a default group status is used when the Workfront system chooses a status automatically.
    For example, a task can be configured to automatically change to Complete status when the percent complete reaches 100%. If you create a custom status that equates with Complete and you set that custom status as a default status, Workfront changes the status of the task to the new default status.
    Custom statuses are used in this way only with group statuses that are associated with a task or issue. Custom statuses cannot be used in this way for statuses associated with a project
    To set the new group status as a default status for the group:
    1. Click the Set Default Statuses drop-down menu.
    2. In the drop-down menu next to the status where you want to set the default status, select the default status you want to set.
    3. Click Save.
      The status is now available as a default status for all members of the group. The status is available only on projects associated with that group.
  9. Associate the custom status with the project where you want to use it. 
    You associate the status with the project by associating the group where the status resides with the project. Users can use the custom status only if the group where the status resides is associated with the project. 
    1. Navigate to the project where you want to use the custom status.
    2. Click Edit Project.
      The Edit Project dialog box is displayed.
    3. In the Overview section, in the Group field, select the group that the custom status is associated with.
    4. Click Save Changes.

Deleting a Status

You can delete any status that either you created or that the system administrator has enabled you to delete. (You cannot delete any status that is marked as "Required" or "Locked.")

The system administrator determines which statuses are available for you to view and manage, as described in "Creating and Customizing Statuses for the Workfront Site."

To delete a status:

  1. In the Global Navigation Bar, click Setup.
  2. Click Groups.
  3. Select the group where you want to set the default statuses.
  4. Click Settings.

    The settings page for the group is displayed with a list of available statuses.
  5. Mouse over the status you want to delete, click Delete.
    The Delete Status dialog box is displayed.
  6. In the Set all projects currently with this status to field, select a status. Projects that were using the status that you are deleting are set to the status you select.
    Statuses are available in the drop-down list only if they equate with the same status as the status you are deleting.
    For example, if you are deleting a status that equates with Current, only statuses that also equate with Current are available to select.
  7. Click Delete Status.