Follow
Deleting Tasks

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

Understanding the Process of Deleting Tasks

Access and Permissions Needed to Delete Tasks

You can delete tasks if you have the following access level and permissions:

  • You have edit rights on tasks in your access level.
    For more information about access levels for various objects, see "Access Level by License Type."
  • You have manage permissions on the task. 
    For more information about task permissions, see "Task Permissions."
  • If the task has logged hours, the system administrator must allow the deletion of these tasks by configuring the Task & Issue Preferences in your Workfront instance.
    For more information about enabling the deletion of tasks where hours are logged, see the "Deletion" section in "Tasks and Issues Preferences."

The Impact of Deleting Tasks

When you delete a task, you impact other objects linked to the task. 

The following objects attached to a task are also deleted when you delete a task:

  • Documents
    You cannot delete a task that has a document which has been checked out attached to it. For more information about checking out documents, see "Checking Out Documents."
  • Issues
  • Subtasks
  • Notes
  • Approvals

Depending on how your system administrator configures the Project, Task, or Issue Deletion Preferences in the Timesheet & Hour Preferences of your Workfront instance, hours logged for the tasks are handled in one of the following ways when deleting a task: 

  • Move to the project and will not be restored on the task, if the task is later restored.
  • Be deleted and will be restored on the task, if the task is later restored.

For more information about configuring the deletion preferences for hours logged on issues, see "Timesheet and Hour Preferences."

Expenses on the task will move to the project. 

The users assigned to the task or to the task approval remain on the project team. 
For more information about project teams, see "Understanding Project Teams."

Deleting Tasks

Deleting Multiple Tasks in a Project Simultaneously 

  1. Navigate to the Projects area of your Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Click the Projects tab.
  3. Click the project name that contains the tasks you want to delete.
  4. Click the Tasks tab.
  5. Select the tasks you want to delete, then click More.
  6. Click Delete.
  7. If the deletion is allowed, click Yes, Delete it.
    Your system administrator might not allow the deletion of tasks where hours are logged. 
    For more information about the access and permissions needed to delete a task, see "Access and Permissions Needed to Delete Tasks."

Deleting a Single Task

  1. Navigate to the Projects area of your Global Navigation Bar.
  2. Click the Projects tab.
  3. Click the project name that contains the task you want to delete.
  4. Click the Tasks tab.
  5. Click the name of the task you want to delete.
  6. Click Task Actions.
    delete_task.png
  7. Click Delete Task.
  8. If the deletion is allowed, click Yes, Delete it.
    Your system administrator might not allow the deletion of tasks where hours are logged. 
    For more information about the access and permissions needed to delete a task, see "Access and Permissions Needed to Delete Tasks."

Restoring Deleted Tasks

Your system administrator can restore tasks within 30 days after they are deleted, as described in "Restoring Deleted Projects, Tasks, and Issues."