Follow
Understanding Limitations in Displaying Information in the Resource Planner

***

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

To improve performance, Workfront is limiting the amount of information you can display as well as the amount of information you can export from the Resource Planner. 
When you approach this limit, Workfront displays a warning message to let you know you have reached that limit.
If the information you expect to see in the Resource Planner does not display, it is possible that you are trying to display too much information and some data has not been displayed due to this limitation. 
 
We strongly recommend that you use filters to reduce the amount of information you display in the Resource Planner, view only information that is pertinent to you, and avoid reaching this limitation. 
For more information about using filters in the Resource Planner, see "Filtering Content in the Resource Planner."

For the Role and Project views, we recommend that you also reduce the amount of projects you are a Resource Manager for. 

The amount of information that you can display or export depends on which view you apply and what environment you use to access the Resource Planner.

Understanding Limitations in the Project View

Consider the following when applying the Project view to the Resource Planner: 

  • You can view only projects for which you are the Resource Manager. 
  • As you expand each project, you can display the job roles associated with it. 
    As you expand each role, you can display users associated with it. 
    Scroll to load more roles and users under each project. 
  • You can view up to 300 projects, when you scroll to the bottom of the list, unless there are more than 30,000 rows of projects, roles, and users. Then, you receive a warning message that you have reached the 30,000 row limit. 
  • You can view three or four time periods, depending on the size of your screen. 
  • When you export the information in the Project View, consider the following:
    • In the Production environment, you can export only the projects displayed and the roles and users listed underneath.
      In the Preview environment, you can export all the projects, along with the roles and users listed underneath, whether you have scrolled to the bottom of the list to display them or not and whether they are expanded or not in the web interface.
    • You can export three or four time periods by default, depending on how many display on the screen.
      You can export no more than four time periods at a time. 
    • In the Production environment, rows without allocation information are not included in the exported file.
      In the Preview environment, rows without allocation information are included in the exported file.
    • In the Preview environment, you can customize the number of time periods that you can export, up to four periods. You can also customize the timeframe of your export, regardless of what displays on the screen. 
    • You can export up to 30,000 rows. 

Understanding Limitations in the Role View

Consider the following when applying the Role view to the Resource Planner:

  • You can see only roles that are associated with projects for which you are the Resource Manager. 
  • As you expand each role, you can display the projects associated with it. 
    As you expand each project, you can display users associated with it. 
    20 projects display by default and you can use the Load More option to display additional projects, or scroll under each project to load more users. 
  • You can see up to 300 roles when you scroll to the bottom of the list, unless there are more than 30,000 rows of roles, projects, and users. Then, you receive a warning message that you have reached the 30,000 row limit for what you can view on the screen. 
  • You can view three or four time periods, depending on the size of your screen. 
  • When you export the information in the Role view, consider the following:
    • In the Production environment, you can export only the roles, projects, and users that display on the screen. You must expand each role and each project on the screen to export that information. 
      In the Preview environment, you can export all the roles, along with the projects and users listed underneath, whether you have scrolled to the bottom of the list to display them or not. All the roles, projects and users are included in the exported file, whether they are expanded or not in the web interface.  
    • You can export three or four time periods by default, depending on how many display on the screen.
      You can export no more than four time periods at a time.
    • In the Production environment, rows without allocation information are not included in exported file.
      In the Preview environment, rows without allocation information are included in the exported file.
    • In the Preview environment, you can customize the number of time periods that you can export, up to four periods. You can also customize the timeframe of your export, regardless of what displays on the screen.
    • You can export up to 30,000 rows. 

Understanding Limitations in the User View

Consider the following when applying the User view to the Resource Planner:

  • You can display all users that you have access to View, who are active and have logged in at least once. 
  • As you expand each user, you can display the projects associated with it. 
    As you expand each project, you can display roles associated with it. 
    The first 50 projects and roles display by default, and you can use the Load More option to display additional projects or roles. 
  • You can see up to 2000 users in the web interface. Workfront displays a warning message when you reach this limit.
  • You can view three or four time periods, depending on the size of your screen. 
  • When you export the information in the User view, consider the following:
    • You can export up to 50,000 rows that contain users, as well as the projects and roles listed underneath, whether you have scrolled to the bottom of the list to display them or not. All the users, projects, and roles are included in the exported file, whether they are expanded or not in the web interface. 
    • In the Production environment, you can export three or four time periods by default, depending on how many display on the screen.
      You can export no more than four time periods at a time.
    • In the Production environment, rows without allocation information are not included in exported file.
      In the Preview environment, rows without allocation information are included in the exported file.
    • In the Preview environment, you can customize the number of time periods that you can export, up to four periods. You can also customize the timeframe of your export, regardless of what displays on the screen.

***DO NOT CHANGE/ MOVE/ CHANGE NAMES OR LINK: This is linked to the UI (Pendo guide) at least during the 18.2 release. Maybe further. 

*** Keep this article as they are adding/removing limitations in 18.3. Make it part of the redesign of the Resource Management restructure when it's all done. Ensure the following links are not broken in the following articles and ensure that no Pendo guides, etc are linked here (ask Vazgen). The article will remain. It is linked to the big article Planning in the Resource Planner, and Understanding the Areas in the Resource Planner from each view of the planner (project, role, user) - cannot be removed unless these links are addressed. 

Keep this article even after 18.2 to explain limitations. Take the limitations references out from the Understanding the areas of the RP, and move them here. Link from there to here for them instead. 

*** When you delete this article (after 18.3, when limitations are removed) incorporate all remaining limits in the respective RM articles. Also, this is also linked to the Understanding Areas of the Resource Planner - https://support.workfront.com/hc/en-us/articles/115004508613 - fix this link/ references as well, when you delete this article.

*** The loading of each view is explained in the comments of this issue: https://hub.workfront.com/document/view?ID=5b0dd4b20062eed677d8cd0302aac9e3&commentID=5b0fe9c6001b73f8a20a49cc700e4a8c&activeTab=tab-document-updates&showCommentBox=true and the following additional links;

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1KzRcDFkz_ugZXnUKJREdkpaUyEc1_gnBkjzd1TKYNhk/edit

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Pv99AfoUHTLuQlwUvMvFzfHCxoJqLEjaxW5BX3O0no0/edit# >>> also in emails from Iskuhi. 

This article last updated on 2018-08-01 18:34:12 UTC