Follow
Understanding Limitations in Displaying Information in the Resource Planner

***

To improve performance, Workfront is limiting the amount of information you can display as well as the amount of information you can export from the Resource Planner. 

When you approach this limit, Workfront displays a warning message to let you know you have reached that limit.
If the information you expect to see in the Resource Planner does not display, it is possible that you are trying to display too much information and some data has not been displayed due to this limitation. 
 
We recommend the following for optimal performance in displaying and exporting the Resource Planner: 
  • Use filters to reduce the amount of information you display in the Resource Planner and view only information that is pertinent to you.
  • Use all your exporting options to reduce the amount of information you export at one time and to ensure you export only pertinent information.
    For more information about using filters and exporting options in the Resource Planner, see "Filtering Content in the Resource Planner."

The amount of information that you can display or export depends on which view you apply and what environment you use to access the Resource Planner.

Understanding Limitations in the Project View

Consider the following when applying the Project view to the Resource Planner, after you have applied all the appropriate filters:

  • You can view only projects that you can manage. 
  • As you expand each project, you can display the job roles associated with it. 
    As you expand each role, you can display users associated with it. 
    Scroll to load more roles and users under each project.
  • You can view up to 300 projects, when you scroll to the bottom of the list, unless there are more than 30,000 rows of projects, roles, and users. Then, you receive a warning message that you have reached the 30,000 row limit. 
  • You can view three or four time periods, depending on the size of your screen. 

Consider the following when exporting information from the Project view of the Resource Planner, after you have applied all the appropriate filters and export options: 

  • When you select to export everything ( projects, roles, and users) in the Resource Planner, all the objects that match your criteria appear in the exported file whether you have scrolled to the bottom of the list to display them or not.
  • Rows without allocation information are included in the exported file.
  • You can export up to 30,000 rows. 

Understanding Limitations in the Role View

Consider the following when applying the Role view to the Resource Planner, after you have applied all the appropriate filters:

  • You can see only roles that are associated with projects that you can manage.
  • As you expand each role, you can display the projects associated with it. 
    As you expand each project, you can display users associated with it. 
    20 projects display by default and you can use the Load More option to display additional projects, or scroll under each project to load more users.
  • You can see up to 300 roles when you scroll to the bottom of the list, unless there are more than 30,000 rows of roles, projects, and users. Then, you receive a warning message that you have reached the 30,000 row limit for what you can view on the screen. 
  • You can view three or four time periods, depending on the size of your screen. 

Consider the following when exporting information from the Role view of the Resource Planner, after you have applied all the appropriate filters and export options: 

  • When you select to export everything (roles, projects, and users) in the Resource Planner, all the objects that match your criteria appear in the exported file whether you have scrolled to the bottom of the list to display them or not.
  • Rows without allocation information are included in the exported file.
  • You can export up to 30,000 rows. 

Understanding Limitations in the User View

Consider the following when applying the User view to the Resource Planner, after you have applied all the appropriate filters: 

  • You can display all users that you have access to View, who are active and have logged in at least once. 
  • As you expand each user, you can display the projects associated with it. 
    As you expand each project, you can display roles associated with it. 
    The first 50 projects and roles display by default, and you can use the Load More option to display additional projects or roles.
    NOTE If you have filtered the list of users by projects, only the users associated with the filtered projects can be expanded and also display hour information.
  • You can see up to 2000 users in the web interface. Workfront displays a warning message when you reach this limit.
  • You can view three or four time periods, depending on the size of your screen. 

Consider the following when exporting information from the User view of the Resource Planner, after you have applied all the appropriate filters and export options: 

  • When you select to export everything ( users, roles, and projects) in the Resource Planner all the roles, projects and users are included in the exported file, whether they are expanded or not in the web interface.
  • You can export up to 30,000 rows that contain users, as well as the projects and roles listed underneath, whether you have scrolled to the bottom of the list to display them or not. All the users, projects, and roles are included in the exported file, whether they are expanded or not in the web interface, up to this row limit. 
  • Rows without allocation information are included in the exported file.

***DO NOT CHANGE/ MOVE/ CHANGE NAMES OR LINK: This is linked to the UI (Pendo guide) at least during the 18.2 release. Maybe further. 

*** Keep this article as they are adding/removing limitations in 18.3. Make it part of the redesign of the Resource Management restructure when it's all done. Ensure the following links are not broken in the following articles and ensure that no Pendo guides, etc are linked here (ask Vazgen). The article will remain. It is linked to the big article Planning in the Resource Planner, and Understanding the Areas in the Resource Planner from each view of the planner (project, role, user) - cannot be removed unless these links are addressed. 

Keep this article even after 18.2 to explain limitations. Take the limitations references out from the Understanding the areas of the RP, and move them here. Link from there to here for them instead. 

*** When you delete this article (after 18.3, when limitations are removed) incorporate all remaining limits in the respective RM articles. Also, this is also linked to the Understanding Areas of the Resource Planner - https://support.workfront.com/hc/en-us/articles/115004508613 - fix this link/ references as well, when you delete this article.

*** The loading of each view is explained in the comments of this issue: https://hub.workfront.com/document/view?ID=5b0dd4b20062eed677d8cd0302aac9e3&commentID=5b0fe9c6001b73f8a20a49cc700e4a8c&activeTab=tab-document-updates&showCommentBox=true and the following additional links;

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1KzRcDFkz_ugZXnUKJREdkpaUyEc1_gnBkjzd1TKYNhk/edit

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Pv99AfoUHTLuQlwUvMvFzfHCxoJqLEjaxW5BX3O0no0/edit# >>> also in emails from Iskuhi. 

 

Update Flare list

This article last updated on 2019-04-11 19:21:12 UTC