Follow
Prioritizing Projects in the Resource Planner

 

The highlighted information on this page refers to functionality not yet generally available. It is available only in the Preview Sandbox environment.

Projects are listed in order of priority in the Resource Planner with the most important project at the top. 

Understanding the Default Order of Projects in the Resource Planner

By default, the projects are listed in the Project View of the Resource Planner by taking into consideration the criteria below.

IMPORTANT Projects are listed according to the three criteria below only the first time you open the Resource Planner. However, this default priority automatically becomes your custom priority and cannot be reverted to the original priority any time you do one of the following:

Once the project priority becomes your custom priority, any changes in the project information no longer affect the ordering of the projects using these criteria. After this, you can prioritize projects only manually.

The original default criteria for listing the projects in the Project View are as follows, in this order:

  1. By the Alignment Score on the project.
    For more information about the Alignment Score of the project, see the "Generating an Alignment Score" section in "Applying a Scorecard to a Project and Generating an Alignment Score."
  2. By the Planned Start Date of the project (if the Alignment field is null or is the same for several projects).
  3. Alphabetically (if the Alignment field is null or is the same, and the Planned Start date is the same for several projects).

Consider the following when working with project priorities in the Resource Planner:

  • You can manually customize the project priority only when you apply the Project View. This also changes the order of the projects in the Resource Planner.
  • When you apply the Role or User Views in the Resource Planner, the projects appear in the same order of priority established in the Project View.
  • The order of the projects in the Resource Planner is unique to you. Other users can view the same projects in the Resource Planner, but in a different order. You cannot report on the Project Planning Priority field. This is visible just in the Resource Planner and it serves as a flag for prioritizing your projects.

Projects associated with a portfolio can have a portfolio-level priority. You can enable viewing the portfolio priority of a project in the Resource Planner, in addition to the Resource Planner priority. You can also order the projects according to their portfolio priority. 

Manually Changing the Project Planning Priority

In the Production environment, if you are a Resource Manager on a project, you can reorder the projects in the Resource Planner by giving them a priority, when you display the Resource Planner in the Project View.

In the Preview environment, you must have Edit access to Resource Management and Manage permissions to projects, to reorder projects in the Resource Planner.

By giving projects a new priority, you can rank them in order of importance.

To edit the Project Planning Priority:

  1. Navigate to the Resource Planner.
  2. Click inside the field to the left of the project name which contains a number, enter a number to change Planning Priority, then click Enter.

    Or
    Hover over the name of the project and click the indicator to the left of the project name, and drag it and drop it in the correct spot, to change the priority.
    drag_and_drop_projects_RP__1_.png
    When you select numbers to prioritize projects, select lower numbers for higher (more important) priorities, and higher numbers for lower (less important) priorities.

    When you change the priority number of a project to a lower number (higher priority), all other projects in the Resource Planner shift down on the list (become less important).
    When you change the priority number of a project to a higher number (lower priority), all other projects in the Resource Planner shift up on the list (become more important).
  3. Click Save.
    The order of the projects changes according to your selections and this becomes your custom project priority in the Resource Planner. Other users cannot see your order of priority for the projects in the Resource Planner, although they might be able to view the same projects in their Resource Planners.

Ordering Projects According to Their Portfolio Priorities in the Resource Planner

  1. Open the Resource Planner in the Project View.
  2. Click the Settings icon. 
  3. Enable the Display Portfolio Priorities setting to display the project priorities according to the Portfolio they are assigned to. The priority of the projects according to their portfolios displays next to the Resource Planner priority. This setting is disabled by default.
    RP_portfolio_priority_unordered__1_.PNG
    The portfolio priorities of the projects display only in the Project view of the Resource Planner.
  4. Click Order to order the projects according to the portfolio priorities.
    If you have projects that belong to more than one portfolio, you could see multiple projects with the same portfolio priority in the Resource Planner. In this case, the projects with the same portfolio priority are listed in this order: 
    • Alignment Score
    • Planned Start Date
    • Project Name

    RP_portfolio_priority_ordered__1_.PNG
  5. (Optional) Click Reset to reorder the projects according to the Resource Planner priority.
  6. Click Save.

Understanding the Effect of Changing the Project Planning Priority on User Available Hours

The Project Planning Priority affects the Available Hours of users. The users associated with the project with the highest priority show their fullest availability for the Available Hours (AVL) column for this project.

The same users associated with the second project in order of priority will show an Available Hours value which is the difference between their full amount of Available Hours and what has already been budgeted for the first project in the Budgeted Hours column, and so on.

If no hours have been budgeted for the first project (in order of priority) for a user, but hours have been budgeted for the second project for the same user, the user will show the full amount of available hours for both projects.

We recommend updating the Budgeted Hours column for your users in the order of the projects in the Resource Planner, to ensure that you can accurately see the Available Hours for the user at all times.

NOTE Because the Project Planning Priority is unique to every resource manager, your second priority project might be a first priority project for another user viewing the same projects in their Resource Planner. If another resource manager budgets a resource for their first project, the Available Hours will decrease for that resource for your first project based on that change.

The user who budgets the hours first allocates that resource and reduces the number of Available Hours for that resource across the system. The amount of Available Hours should update for all the users as soon as the Budgeted Hours are saved for a resource in the Resource Planner.
For more information about Available Hours, see "Availability and Allocation of Resources."

 

This article last updated on 2019-04-11 19:23:14 UTC